Windows OS on Droid?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by buci1er, Mar 31, 2010.

  1. buci1er

    buci1er New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know if it would be possible to install Windows XP or the like on a Motorola Droid?

    That would be a kind of cool feature especially since our phones meet the requirements for an xp installation
     
  2. nphil

    nphil Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    windows was made to run on x86 architecture and the Droid is based on ARM, so no.
     
  3. Darkseider

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why? That would be like putting a 4 cylinder engine in a Lamborghini.
     
  4. G_Neo

    G_Neo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You would need like 20 or 30 Droids, linked together in a huge Droid cloud, just to satisfy the memory requirements of Windows.
    If you could chop about 99% of the Windows OS off, you might could do it then...
     
  5. ldimick

    ldimick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    And then cutting three of the spark plug wires
     
  6. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Since it's linux based you'd more likely see Mac ran here then Windows. :)

    Imagine that! Running an Apple product on the Droid.:rofl3:
     
  7. Moondonkey

    Moondonkey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's dirty. why would you want to do that!

    Now I wonder if it might be possible to put a real lite OS like Unbuntu Netbook Remix or something.
     
  8. MiXoLoGiSt

    MiXoLoGiSt Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haha this is like asking if you can have a palm phone with the Android OS. Its just not going to happen lol. As others have stated in this thread, Putting Windows mobile on an Android device is like putting a 4cyl engine in a Lamborghini and cutting 3 spark plug wires. If you want Windows Mobile switch to a phone that comes with it. I guarantee you will be running back to android FAST.
     
  9. gavron

    gavron Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    A troll says what?

    E
     
  10. Acid7711

    Acid7711 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    And pulling the 4th off...........

    lol.
     
  11. buci1er

    buci1er New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    not trolling, just wondering how far the capabilities of my droid can be taken, i mean it's oc'd to 1.2ghz and runs like a champ on ultimate droid. I LOVE THE PHONE. I was just wondering how far we could take the customization on the phone. Like the other poster about Ubuntu Lite or something to that effect.
     
  12. demon69120

    demon69120 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol no. You're not going to get anything further than Android.
    You do know that Windows XP wont run on a Droid even if it was possbile? You can't run a x86 OS on an ARM device.

    Edit:

    Also wondering why you would want to? I could understand someone wanting to port the iPhone OS, but a desktop OS on a phone? You do realize the screen is 3.7 inches, it uses a touch screen and so on. I could see you showing it off to a friend or something, but there's a reason why the designers don't. You have a computer for a computer, a phone for a phone, and a Droid for something in between.
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2010
  13. Sweettooth

    Sweettooth Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Ratings:
    +10
    I get close to the feeling of having XP/Server 2003 on my Droid when I VNC into various machines at work...just without the bluescreening. :)

    I love Windows and am all for customization but Windows is the last thing I'd put on an Android phone.
     
  14. gavron

    gavron Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I live in Tucson, Arizona. That's MST (GMT-0700). I'm Soooo happy April Fools is over :)

    E
     
  15. bill1253

    bill1253 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    lol
    why? so you could get the blue screen of death on your droid...
     
Search tags for this page

install windows on android

,

install windows on droid

,
install windows os on android
,
installing windows os on android
,
putting windows on a droid
,

run windows on droid

,
windows droid
,

windows for droid

,

windows on droid

,
windows os on droid 2