Windows OS on Droid?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by buci1er, Mar 31, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. buci1er
    Offline

    buci1er New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know if it would be possible to install Windows XP or the like on a Motorola Droid?

    That would be a kind of cool feature especially since our phones meet the requirements for an xp installation
  2. nphil
    Offline

    nphil Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    windows was made to run on x86 architecture and the Droid is based on ARM, so no.
  3. Darkseider
    Offline

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,866
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why? That would be like putting a 4 cylinder engine in a Lamborghini.
  4. G_Neo
    Offline

    G_Neo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You would need like 20 or 30 Droids, linked together in a huge Droid cloud, just to satisfy the memory requirements of Windows.
    If you could chop about 99% of the Windows OS off, you might could do it then...
  5. ldimick
    Offline

    ldimick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    And then cutting three of the spark plug wires
  6. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,544
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    Since it's linux based you'd more likely see Mac ran here then Windows. :)

    Imagine that! Running an Apple product on the Droid.:rofl3:
  7. Moondonkey
    Offline

    Moondonkey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's dirty. why would you want to do that!

    Now I wonder if it might be possible to put a real lite OS like Unbuntu Netbook Remix or something.
  8. MiXoLoGiSt
    Offline

    MiXoLoGiSt Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haha this is like asking if you can have a palm phone with the Android OS. Its just not going to happen lol. As others have stated in this thread, Putting Windows mobile on an Android device is like putting a 4cyl engine in a Lamborghini and cutting 3 spark plug wires. If you want Windows Mobile switch to a phone that comes with it. I guarantee you will be running back to android FAST.
  9. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    A troll says what?

    E
  10. Acid7711
    Offline

    Acid7711 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    And pulling the 4th off...........

    lol.
  11. buci1er
    Offline

    buci1er New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    not trolling, just wondering how far the capabilities of my droid can be taken, i mean it's oc'd to 1.2ghz and runs like a champ on ultimate droid. I LOVE THE PHONE. I was just wondering how far we could take the customization on the phone. Like the other poster about Ubuntu Lite or something to that effect.
  12. demon69120
    Offline

    demon69120 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol no. You're not going to get anything further than Android.
    You do know that Windows XP wont run on a Droid even if it was possbile? You can't run a x86 OS on an ARM device.

    Edit:

    Also wondering why you would want to? I could understand someone wanting to port the iPhone OS, but a desktop OS on a phone? You do realize the screen is 3.7 inches, it uses a touch screen and so on. I could see you showing it off to a friend or something, but there's a reason why the designers don't. You have a computer for a computer, a phone for a phone, and a Droid for something in between.
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2010
  13. Sweettooth
    Offline

    Sweettooth Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Ratings:
    +9
    I get close to the feeling of having XP/Server 2003 on my Droid when I VNC into various machines at work...just without the bluescreening. :)

    I love Windows and am all for customization but Windows is the last thing I'd put on an Android phone.
  14. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I live in Tucson, Arizona. That's MST (GMT-0700). I'm Soooo happy April Fools is over :)

    E
  15. bill1253
    Offline

    bill1253 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    lol
    why? so you could get the blue screen of death on your droid...
Search tags for this page

install windows on android

,

install windows on droid

,
install windows os on android
,
installing windows os on android
,
putting windows on a droid
,

run windows on droid

,
windows droid
,

windows for droid

,

windows on droid

,
windows os on droid 2