Will you return the nexus if the signal is not fixed?

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by doublea500, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. GeLopez

    GeLopez Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +8
    i am not having any dropped calls, i do however show -120db. i will not be returning my nexus if verizon can pull a fix to the readings.
     
  2. MrKleen

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    I am one who certainly was having issues. I don't care about bars, but I do care that I was missing phone calls and then notice that I have a voicemail. I also don't like calls dropping mid conversation because my phone completely lost service. (I dropped a call while calling tech support)

    I am not talking about when the network was down... I am used to this and understand all that. But when my Nexus is sitting completely without service while my Thunderbolt does have service it makes me a bit concerned.

    I swapped out my first phone and am still on my second. I must say that since having this one I've had a couple issues but it is much better. It is better to the point that I may keep it because I wan't it so badly. But it does have trouble with data transfer a lot. I can be trying to download or do something and it is sorta stuck or barely moving. My Thunderbolt operates very quickly and is my comparison. Sadly while I much prefer the Nexus, the Thunderbolt smokes my Nexus with data side by side. Again I am not comparing imaginary bars of signal, I am comparing real life downloading of data.

    I hold out hope that it can be fixed with software. But I sure hope Verizon doesn't just change the bars and tell us everything is fine.... If this happened, yes I would return the phone. And this would make me very sad because I waited for this phone for a long time, and it has amazing developer support which will only get better and better.

    To me this is a real disappointing situation.
     
  3. pc747

    pc747 Regular Member
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    25,457
    Likes Received:
    6,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +7,475
    You are right there are people who are not having issues and we need them to post juat as much as we need those who are having issues to report. Collectively we can get to the bottom of whether this is software or hardware related. I hear what people are saying about the Nexus reporting "true" Lte and I think that may be the issue. If they are separating it then it could be an issue. Because Lte devices dont run strong all day it fluctuates and some of it may be designed in the software to prevent over heating. With devices that are reporting them together (if that is happening) it appears that we are still able to continue to do what we need to do and not have issues stopping and dropping calls. So I guess what I am saying is that if reporting them together allows my data and calls to be more stable then I would rather them report it together until we get LTE at a point where it can handle every day data functions. Because at the end of the day no matter how many roms this thing can flash and all the tweaks I still have to use it for a phone. And if I find that I can not get through a day with out issues I am going to ask questions. Now many of us on here who own the nexus know our way around our phones. Yes some may be more knowledgeable than others but we all can handle our own. So I believe the people that say they are having issues just like I believe those who may not be having issues at all. At the end of the day the point of us (the community) is to collaborate and learn. If I come on the forums and I am the only one with data issues then I know its a bad device or my area is just poor with a signal. But if I come on here and there are a good handful of people having the same issue then we either have a large batch of bad devices or software issues that are plaguing a large collection of people. I have not seen any one come on here saying "this is a pos google sucks" those of us having issues are frustrated and are in a tough situation. Because we now have to decide whether to wait it out and be stuck or return it and wait for a fix (I actually already decided what to do). Many of us need our phones to be reliable and one of the reasons I dropped my iphone 3gs on At&T and came to vzw was because of the better network. At the end of the day my phone has to be a phone first because I can always get a tablet for ics. I am truly hoping this get fixed and that this just become an after thought.
     
  4. honors21

    honors21 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am not having an issue at all ?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  5. doublea500

    doublea500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    the problem is not the 4g itself, its keeping the 4g. every once in a while it goes to 3g. its annoying and it kills my battery.
    For all the people who are not having a data problem, just know that there IS a data problem in someplaces to devices, and its quite widespread.

    Coming from an og droid, i dont know what to expect from 4g, but i do know that if i were to drop to 3g, i should at least be getting as strong a db signal as my old og droid got in my house.
     
  6. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    And thats part of the problem IMO. If you put your G Nex on LTE it shows a higher decibel number, the actual LTE readings...why do that when its a phone and uses CDMA, EVDO, 1x? So in other words the G Nex, ICS is putting phone reception readings as a lower priority when its on LTE? Shouldnt phone reception readings be the main priority, since its a phone? Or does it actually switch readings when on the different networks? Like when its connected to LTE is shows one thing, when its on 3G it shows something else, when its on a call it shows something else? Or is it all showing the LTE readings for all 3?

    Whatever the case....it should be like all the other LTE phones until 3G gets phased out or we start using VoLTE. IMO the Charge and G Nex are "showing it wrong". Do some ppl realize that the phone reception is part of 3G? As such, it should be showing that as the main priority right now, until VoLTE comes and/or 3G is phased out?

    Verizon launching simultaneous voice and data over CDMA 1X Advanced SVDO network soon « The Cell Phone Junkie

    CDMA2000 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    3G - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    If this was a tablet that couldn't do calls, I could understand.
     
    #54 jroc, Dec 22, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2011
  7. Zecpull

    Zecpull Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wooster, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +5
    I just came from the Droid Bionic, This is a known issue.. They told me the Nexus would not have this issue.. I have had 3 times in one day with NO internet. I have been through a Month of " the next update will fix it. " I was ready to return my Bionic inside the 14 day window.. and they told me the Fix was only days away.. HA HA HA . I then went back after my 14 days.. and told them I wanted to Return it under the same complaint on day 8 .. they said no.. I had 2 replacement phones. .and 2 sim cards. and it still was losing Data signal. Now Im getting the same thing on another $300 phone running ICS... it is going back... I will wait. until it is fixed. .By then I can pick it up for half price.. My Bionic was $355 with the Extended battery... they are now 200.. I may get another Bionic. It is getting ICS soon.. and I think it is a better made phone. If I have to live with no data... I will take a cheaper phone. My Droid X2 never lost Data.. It has to be a Verizon Problem.
     
  8. doublea500

    doublea500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    im not talking about the signal strength when i say data problems. when i have 4g, its great. its the stability, it drops on me.

    example- i turned lte/cdma off and cdma on, so 3g should be on. i put my phone in my pocket for about an hour and then when i wanted to dl an app i did not have 3g data on, and i had to enable the wifi. Thats the problem.
     
  9. Liderc

    Liderc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +45
    I guess we just have differing opinions of what the signal should show.

    I think it should show 4G signal when it's on 4G and 3G signal when it's on 3G, as it does now.
     
  10. doublea500

    doublea500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    also, one more note. i called my vzw store, and told them the problem and they said one sec and transfered me to somewhere (i think tech support or just another guy in the store). he said they were completely aware of the problem and are working on it. i told him i read... with the signal bars... and that my problem is that it drops to 3g. he just said "they are aware of the problem...". i said what happens if its a hardware issue. he said its not a hardware issue, you would have been notified if it were. so thats a good sign at least :D i can rest!
     
  11. GoBears

    GoBears Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    This was a good read for me. I'm not suffering from dropped data but rather slow speeds. I don't live in a 4g area and when I travel to one I still leave it off, so I can't comment on 4g. I hope everyone gets their issues resolved because this phone is going to be epic and the more on board the merrier!

    GoBears
     
  12. Crankintopwater69

    Crankintopwater69 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Greensboro,NC
    Ratings:
    +116
    This was a good read for me also im just having voicemail probs and since i have no bars at home but still can make phone calls and get on the net then im doin ok,but i will return only bcos of voicemail.