Will this phone have BLUR?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by Jeeper8889, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. Jeeper8889
    Offline

    Jeeper8889 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello, will the the Motorola RAZR have the BLUR and the bloatware apps that can't be deleted? I'm trying to decide between the Nexus and the RAZR for my next phone. I'm really liking the shape of the RAZR but if its going to have blur and all the bloatware crap that's a deal breaker for me
  2. Godric
    Offline

    Godric New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Its a motorola phone and it has enough memory in it that bloatware won't even matter.

    On the other hand, the GN is a pure google phone so I doubt it will have bloatware

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  3. Jeeper8889
    Offline

    Jeeper8889 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like the RAZR will be getting ICS which has bloatware removing capabilities, might not be a big deal after all
  4. Rayv
    Online

    Rayv Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas
    With the upcoming bloatware disabling features of ICS, does this mean even motoblur can be disabled as well? I don't completely understand how this works.
  5. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    According to what I read it will virtually freeze the app just like Titanium does. The app will be disabled and will not show up in your app drawer and can not be run unless you re-activate it.
  6. lobo13
    Offline

    lobo13 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can't wait for this phone to be updated to ICS. But, does anyone know what is actually different in 2.3.5, which the Razr has and the 2.3.4 which the Bionic has. That is what I am curious about.
  7. rescuemeafd
    Offline

    rescuemeafd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    This might be a dumb question but what is BLUR?
  8. Godric
    Offline

    Godric New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know in stock 2.3.4 and 2.3.5, only small differences. Not sure about blur though.

    And Blur is the skin motorola has been adding to their android phones lately. With added features that aren't present in stock gingerbread.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  9. INCREMENTAL
    Offline

    INCREMENTAL Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
  10. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    I don't understand the obsession with hating Motoblur. I don't have a problem with it. I also have no problems with the additional software, sure it may be annoying to have to see something you'll never use, but it isn't taking a ton of space and it isn't causing performance hits.
  11. SSHGuru
    Offline

    SSHGuru New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    I love motoblur on the Bionic

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  12. 305rev305
    Offline

    305rev305 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami,FL
    I had the X and Blur lags big time. Maybe on the Razr blur works better who knows...But if u get an HTC and use sense you'll notice the difference. Sense on HTC is smooth as the iPhone.

    U can always buy the Moto and use another launcher like ADW which I love...
  13. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Try the stock ROM and then get an AOSP ROM like CM7 where the screen transitions are smooth and everything is fast. I went back to the stock ROM for a few days and found myself overclocking just to make the screen animations not choppy.

    It does cause performance hits, you just don't realize how much until you ditch it.

    Boot Manager
  14. Jeeper8889
    Offline

    Jeeper8889 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Blur and bloatware do cause performance issues, why do you think the majority of android users hate it :blink:
  15. cjsmoove
    Offline

    cjsmoove Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NORCAL
    Not the new Blur...
Search tags for this page

does the droid razr m by motorola have motoblur?