Will the GPS and Navigation on my droid work...

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by VirtualGeek, Jul 28, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. VirtualGeek
    Offline

    VirtualGeek Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...in England when I visit? (motorola droid)
  2. kermitdfrogdroid
    Offline

    kermitdfrogdroid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, droid is not a global phone. And the verizon equiv in england uses a diff radio

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  3. VirtualGeek
    Offline

    VirtualGeek Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know that the phone wont work, i have a voip set up, but the gps alone wont work? Buggar.

    Sent from my mind using an Integrated Virtual-WAN Neurochip.
  4. sc4fpse
    Offline

    sc4fpse Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope. The GPS unfortunately requires a network connection to get it's initial fix, for whatever reason. Therefore, you'll be out of luck in England with the Droid.
  5. VirtualGeek
    Offline

    VirtualGeek Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Boo. Oh well, guess ill just buy the maps for my navigon.

    Thanks for your help. :)

    Sent from my mind using an Integrated Virtual-WAN Neurochip.
  6. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Incorrect responses above. The GPS receiver will be just fine. GPS relies on the network of GPS satellites to determine your location.

    You say "navigation" but that's extremely vague and you need to be specific about which nav app you're using. Google Maps Nav (which is entirely separate from the GPS receiver -- just like any other GPS-enabled app) requires data. If you have a GPS nav app that uses local map data you'll be fine. Be aware though that the Droid's radio apparently needs to be on (actual coverage doesn't matter) to get an initial fix.
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2010
Search tags for this page
android navigation does it work in europe
,

does verizon gps work in canada

,
how do i enable my navigation on my android
,

how do i enable navigation on my droid

,
where is my navigation on my droid
,
will google maps work on my phone in england
,
will my android navigation work in europe
,
will my droid navigate app work in rome
,
will my phone gps work in canada
,
will the gps on my droid phone work in the uk