Will the Droid Pro work overseas on a prepaid sim?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Pro' started by MO3iusONE, Nov 20, 2010.

  1. nomad2000

    nomad2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Beijing, China
    Ratings:
    +0

    prepaid SIM, in mainland, you can choose "Easy Own" (Shen Zhou Xing in Chinese Pinyin) by China Mobile, or Ruyi Tone by Unicom

    if u will stay at HK for a long time, recommend the CSL One2free.

    these pre-paid sim are selling at bookstore, 7-11, airport store etc.
     
  2. MO3iusONE

    MO3iusONE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well just a heads up for people going to Korea. I brought my Droid Pro and Dell Venue Pro and non of them seem to want to work on a prepaid card. The prepaid card is called "show" it works on this cheap 60 dollar flip phone I bought but no luck with the other ones. Theres a few companys here though that arent prepaid that offer plans, such as data, text, etc. etc. I'm gonna see if that might work, it should work, a buddy of mine had a Sidekick II which he got to work, although he said the data seems to be acting a little funky, anyways, I'll keep you guys posted.
     
  3. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,119
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 2 XL
    Yeah, in Korea they have heavy government regulations on phones, especially smartphones, in order to encourage the local market. It took a lot of time and a lot of effort for them to even allow the iPhone since it wasn't a Korean product. They tend to make it very difficult for you to bring a foreign phone into the country to use on their networks (unless you're roaming with a foreign carrier, like Verizon). So if your device isn't allowed in their systems, it's unlikely that it will ever work without some serious tinkering.
     
  4. MO3iusONE

    MO3iusONE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    BLARGH! Yet another update.

    I tried popping a sim card into my Dell Venue Pro and..sure enough, it did not work.. Two phones I bring to Korea.. and non of them work, I should have kept the Nexus One, maybe I would have had better luck with that.
     
  5. MO3iusONE

    MO3iusONE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I swear, something isn't right, both phones support 2100 frequencies, I could understand these phones not working on a prepaid plan but, I dont see why they wouldn't work on a regular plan with data. A co worker of mine managed to get his Sidekick 4G to work over here..I'll have to look into this some more..
     
  6. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,119
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 2 XL
    Take a look at my post just above your two recent ones. Korea locks down foreign cell phones pretty hard in order to encourage the local market. It's possible to get phones not in their systems to work, but it's not as easy as popping in a SIM card. That's why they won't work. You'll have the same experience with any foreign cell phone. I used to live in Korea, so I'm quite familiar with it all.
     
  7. MO3iusONE

    MO3iusONE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I read your post but like I said, I got a few friends that brought their phones over (side kick) and managed to make it work, so I want to make sure my phones dont work before I spend money on another one. I'll keep you guys posted, more than likely I'm gonna end up buying a Motorola Droid, or whatever its called overhere, its under a different name.
     
  8. Matveh

    Matveh New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Droid 2 Global works just fine on the CDMA network here in South Korea. I have the international data plan with Verizon. However, there must be some network speed restriction placed on my device by the Korean wireless provider that Verizon is contracted with for international roaming. I recently ran a speed test app and my download speed clocked around 130 kb/s while my upload limit was around 200 kb/s.

    Plus, I just got off the phone with customer service and they said that because the Korean network is CDMA, even with a Korean SIM in the phone it would probably revert to the Verizon international carrier. I think there's GSM available in Korea but I read somewhere in these forums that GSM kills the Droid battery.
     
  9. tennvol

    tennvol Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    When I use GSM overseas my battery life is better than CDMA here in the states

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums
     
  10. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,119
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 2 XL
    I'm pretty sure that the OP wants to use a local SIM card on a local plan and not pay Verizon's international roaming fees. It's significantly cheaper. Verizon of course prefers you to stick with their international roaming so they get paid.

    And my battery life is always better on GSM than CDMA.
     
  11. monster

    monster New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So a stupid question here, does putting a pre-paid SIM in the phone avoid the roaming charges for the phone calls, the data, or both? I'm trying to figure out a solution for going into Canada and this sounds like the closest I've seen.
     
  12. Matveh

    Matveh New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, using the prepaid SIM should avoid roaming charges.

    @the OP: A guy at a QOOK SHOW store told me today that the Moto D2G only works on SK (aka T-world) here in Korea. I'm going to hit an SK shop in the next couple of days to try to get a SIM for my D2G while I'm here. When I get a SIM that works, I'll try to let you know.
     
Search tags for this page
can droid eris be used abroad sim card
,
does a third party sim card for motorola maxx have to be pro
,
droid eris sim card china
,
korea sim card data plan
,

overseas prepaid data not working droid razr

,
pre paid sim card for droid pro by motorola
,
sim, china, verizon, droid m
,
using droid 2 global in taiwan
,
will my galaxy nexus verizon work in thailand
,
will third party sim card work in verizon motorola 4g droid