Will the Droid Pro work overseas on a prepaid sim?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Pro' started by MO3iusONE, Nov 20, 2010.

  1. MO3iusONE

    MO3iusONE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hope so since this is a pretty big deal for me. I'll be going to Korea for a good year, I'm hoping I can just head on over there and put a local sim card into this phone and be good to go.
     
  2. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    No need for a prepaid SIM, the Pro is global capable and will support voice in over 200 destinations and data in 160 destinations worldwide.
    www.verizonwireless.com/support

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums app (free in market)
     
  3. MO3iusONE

    MO3iusONE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well the thing is that, I'll be in Korea for a solid year so, I'll more than likely have to pick up a local prepaid sim card over there..
     
  4. danwanna

    danwanna Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am interested in this as well. From what I've heard you will get a much better rate for the pre-paid SIM vs. Verizon's agreement. I would be happy to be wrong though...
     
  5. westcoast

    westcoast New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You'll need to unlock it from verizon to put in a sim card thats not verizon-vodafone. I travel overseas quite a bit with my verizon phone (generally 2-3 week business trips) and the bills can be quite high from data and phone usage.
     
  6. emilm

    emilm New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    I live in Thailand and i must warn you that the 2 unlock codes supplied by Verizon will NOT work. I am stuck and still waiting for a solution.
     
  7. techguru

    techguru Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    To use a prepaid SIM, you need to call Verizon global support and get the unlock code. They will talk you through unlocking it. You must be a customer in good standing (I believe 3 months of bills paid on time).

    However, Korea is one of the few other countries that have CDMA networks. You may be able to have your Droid re-programed for the local CDMA network as well, but if not, be sure to set it to GSM only or you will get hit with Roaming charges that are VERY expensive because you can roam CDMA in Korea and the charges will show up on your Verizon bill.

    Alan
     
  8. nomad2000

    nomad2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Beijing, China
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using china mobile's sim card on my droid pro via gsm network, it works fine

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  9. emilm

    emilm New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did call Verizon from Thailand and got the codes from them, they even walked me through the instructions but the phone would not recognize the codes. Verizon contacted Motorola but still no solutions.
     
  10. bb_or_droid

    bb_or_droid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Major East Coast City
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the first-hand report. That is comforting to know.

    Can you recommend a prepaid SIM for use in mainland and hong kong?

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  11. MO3iusONE

    MO3iusONE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ill more thank likely have to cancel verizon before I head on to korea.. im hoping I can somehow unroot my phone so I can use overseas on a pre paid sim. I guess we'll have to find out and see what happens.

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  12. debracey

    debracey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You don't have to root the phone to use a 3rd party sim. You just have to get the unlock code from VZ or from any number of 3rd party sites. The only sims that are blocked outright are US TMobile and US ATT sims.

    -- Dan
     
Search tags for this page
can droid eris be used abroad sim card
,
does a third party sim card for motorola maxx have to be pro
,
droid eris sim card china
,
korea sim card data plan
,

overseas prepaid data not working droid razr

,
pre paid sim card for droid pro by motorola
,
sim, china, verizon, droid m
,
using droid 2 global in taiwan
,
will my galaxy nexus verizon work in thailand
,
will third party sim card work in verizon motorola 4g droid