Will SBF make my phone unbrickable?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by DrFeelgood, Feb 19, 2011.

  1. DrFeelgood
    Offline

    DrFeelgood Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have an R2D2 Droid 2, and to install custom ROMs I have to SBF my phone to 2.3.2, so I already have an SBF ready. I was wondering, is it possible to brick my phone to the point where it can't be fixed at all? What would cause this?
     
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I think if you look at your "about phone" that if you scroll to system version you will see that you are already at 2.3.2.

    Now about bricking. That term is used loosely around here. Your phone is not bricked if it will power on. It's only when you can't even get it to power on that you are really bricked.

    If you want to install custom roms you don't sbf to do that, you root. The easiest way to root a Droid 2 is with z4Root. If you need a copy, let me know I have one on my desktop.
     
  3. DrFeelgood
    Offline

    DrFeelgood Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have an R2D2 Droid 2, which is running 2.4.5 and I read to install custom ROMs I should SBF to 2.3.2.
     
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    OK…..Sorry, I was under the impression that R2D2 runs the same OS as the D2. I'm not sure what to tell you to do, I understand why you would need to be at 2.3.2, I'm just not sure how the sbf would work with that system. Let me send you over to our RS for D2 and maybe someone can assist you there.
     
  5. DrFeelgood
    Offline

    DrFeelgood Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. I've decided to SBF my phone to 2.3.2 anyway just to be safe, but the problem is my phone doesn't show up in RSDLite. I've downloaded and installed drivers from the Motorola website, but when I plug my phone in my PC tells me I have to install drivers, and in bootloader mode it doesn't show up in RSDLite. What can I do to fix this?
     
  6. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
  7. DrFeelgood
    Offline

    DrFeelgood Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed the drivers and my phone still doesn't show up. That's also where I downloaded the sbf and RDSlite from.

    Sent from my R2D2 Droid 2
     
  8. jhkang
    Offline

    jhkang Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    bump....
    i am in the same boat
     
  9. techarlj
    Offline

    techarlj Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try another usb cord. Mine from Moto won't work, but my cable from my BlackBerry Storm 1 allows it to show up in RSD Lite. Hope it helps.
     
  10. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Mine shows up as s flash but it says connected and I confirmed that this is OK. Is it showing up like that or not at all?

    Sent from my rooted DROID2
     
  11. patmw123
    Offline

    patmw123 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +33
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    That's what mine looks like everytime I sbf
     
  12. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Good to know! I've never had to sbf before. I'm actually going to flash my first rom (liberty) today if I can get the balls.

    Sent from my rooted DROID2
     
  13. jhkang
    Offline

    jhkang Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    i made it work somehow and it did show up as S FLASH and it did let me flash.
    i jus reinstalled every driver that i found and it made it work. hahah
    thanks for ur help thou
     
Search tags for this page

make my phone unbrickable

,
make sbf