Will pay $10 through paypal if someone helps

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by dredge, Jan 3, 2010.

  1. dredge

    dredge Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    please help guys, i have done all which is said in custom boot guide. added to archive put in adb tools. now what do i type in command prompt once everything is settled in? keeps saying cannot find file or directory
    starting from once entered
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2010
  2. SwordOfWar

    SwordOfWar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    you didn't even ask what you want???
     
  3. dredge

    dredge Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    edited, sorry lol
     
  4. dredge

    dredge Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    or go see my other topic on custom boot animation
     
  5. SwordOfWar

    SwordOfWar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    once you have the animatedboot.zip file you just simply move it onto the phone where the original bootanimation.zip is located.

    I don't remember what the path/folder name was...but to move a file from the adb/tools to the phone you type adb push bootanimation.zip destination\folder\or\something\bootanimation.zip (or whatever the file is called...i dont rmemeber if its bootanimation.zip or animationboot.zip..
     
  6. dredge

    dredge Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you can find out exactly, 10 bucks for you
     
  7. SwordOfWar

    SwordOfWar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Give me a minute to look it up and ill let you know...
     
  8. dredge

    dredge Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i typed data local thing (where my NEW bootanim. is) and says no such file or directory
    please find what to type as soon as i enter command prompt from cd to tools etc
     
  9. Berry2Droid

    Berry2Droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    you need to download the SDK.
    if you are passed that step, you put bootanimation.zip in your tools folder inside your SDK folder
    Start>Run>Cmd
    type cd c:<insert path where your SDK folder is held, something like program files/my documents/SDK folder/tools, or however you named it>

    then do adb push bootanimation.zip /data/local

    that should do it
    restart the phone

    edit: also make sure ur phone has usb debug selected.
     
  10. cwright

    cwright New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle
    Ratings:
    +0
    Code:
    adb push bootanimation.zip /data/local
    Make sure you have the new .zip bootanimation in your tools directory before the push...
     
  11. SwordOfWar

    SwordOfWar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    "adb push bootanimation.zip /data/local" is the command. You type it exactly like that.

    if you have the "$" icon before the command it means you have adb shell open (close and open adb again)... because this won't work from the "$" prompt.

    You need the bootanimation.zip file in the adb/tools folder (the same place adb.exe is on your pc) for this to work.

    By default, windows hides the extension of files (the .zip part). You may actually have the file as "bootanimation.zip.zip" but since windows hides the extension, it only shows "bootanimation.zip" try removing the .zip from the filename and trying again to see if that helps.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2010
  12. dredge

    dredge Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    dude please be specific, i named my tools android.
    can you redo what you just said now.
     
  13. ashkev843

    ashkev843 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here is how I did mine through the terminal on the droid. I copied my bootanimation.zip onto the sd card the went to terminal and put in:

    su

    dd if=/sdcard/bootanimation.zip of=/data/local/bootanimation.zip


    I am not good with the adb so this was much easier for me, assuming you are rooted of course.
     
  14. hesiquio

    hesiquio New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    when you make the zip file mark as no compresion otherwise the file give you a error.
    after zip the file do the next step:
    copy the bootanimation.zip to the folder where tha adb shell comand is located......android/tools
    then open comand promp and do adb push bootanimation.zip /data/local.
    now rebooot your droid and is done
    if you want to do this from your phone copy the zip file to your sdcard then using root explorer copy and paste the file in the data/local directory
     
  15. dredge

    dredge Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    can someone tell me how to get into tools, my tools are named android.
    was working earlier. weird.