Will Otter Box mess with GPS?

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible 2' started by AirForceAngler, Oct 23, 2011.

  1. AirForceAngler
    Offline

    AirForceAngler Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was out GeoCacheing today and using c:geo, GPS said I was 30 feet away when I was at the cache. Wondering if it's the phone or the OB cover I had on it. Didn't get a chance to try without the cover.

    Sent to today from yesterday using tomorrow's technology.
     
  2. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    OB isn't the problem, GPS isn't necessarily going to give you 100% accurate readings, I use SeekDroid to locate my phone and it gives me about a 30 mter radius of where my phone is most likely at.

    Sent from my Droid 3 directly to YOU!
     
  3. AirForceAngler
    Offline

    AirForceAngler Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know it won't be 100%, but it should be better than 30 feet under clear skies I would think.
     
  4. noisyKricket
    Offline

    noisyKricket Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    the internets
    Ratings:
    +0
    That actually sounds pretty normal.
     
  5. AirForceAngler
    Offline

    AirForceAngler Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My OG Droid would put me on top of a cache. Will try without ob next time.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums