Will official OTA 2.1 update mess up rooted Droid?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by mapexvenus, Jan 12, 2010.

  1. mapexvenus

    mapexvenus Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is a newb question and I apologize in advance if this has been asked / answered before.

    I want to root my droid to install the unofficial 2.1update, however, I want my phone to be able to receive the official 2.1 update when it is available. I understand that my phone will no longer be rooted if I do this and have no problems with that.

    Will installing an official copy of 2.1 on my phone prevent the official update from being received and installed?
     
  2. psufan5

    psufan5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    the latest nandroid flash utility blocks OTA updates. Make sure you have that installed. Other than that, you can google how to stop OTAs.
     
  3. messenger13

    messenger13 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Disable OTA updates from Terminal Emulator on your DROID.

    Type:

    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    cd /system/etc/security
    mv otacerts.zip otacerts.zip.bak
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    sync
    reboot
     
  4. rickjames29

    rickjames29 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What if I want the 2.1 update when it comes and i have a rooted on 2.0.1 what is the best thing to do?
     
  5. alienware777

    alienware777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Someone will upload the official 2.1 when it comes out. Just intall that on your phone like you did the unofficial 2.1
     
  6. SwordOfWar

    SwordOfWar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you want to be safe, you can always install an original update.zip of like 2.0.1 and then do the 2.1 official update. That should eliminate any possible conflicts.

    hope that answers your question.
     
  7. tktouch12

    tktouch12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    will this method delete our stuff we have on our phones? like apps and settings and stuff?
     
  8. shadesofexcuses

    shadesofexcuses New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What will happen if I don't have OTA updates blocked, and I update my rooted 2.0.1 to 2.1? Will that brick the phone, or will I just revert to be no longer rooted?
     
  9. taypotts

    taypotts Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok... I just did this and now my power control won't show anything... it just shows empty black squares...

    edit: nevermind it's working fine now...
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2010
  10. bsp120167

    bsp120167 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would like to know this as well. If i will stay rooted I won't block OTA. Will there be anything in the OTA that is not in the 2.1 i already have?
     
  11. Big Lou

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just mv otacerts.zip.bak otacerts.zip
     
  12. bucsfann20

    bucsfann20 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmmm

    i have bugless beauty running.

    i have my terminal emulator, and inputed everything.

    "otacerts.zip" - no such file or directory

    does anyone know what i did wrong?

    i inputed everything correctly, checked it plenty of times

    thanks
     
  13. shademar

    shademar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berkeley
    Ratings:
    +0
    From what I understand, both bugless beauty and beast have already disabled the OTA (as does the latest sprecovery.) Hence, you may be trying to rename a file that is already renamed...
     
  14. rstone

    rstone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have to be in the right directory for that to work...try:

    cd /etc/security
    mv otacerts.zip.bak oatcerts.zip

    If you still get the error, from your terminal emulator, you can type LS to see what files are located in the directory your in.
     
  15. bucsfann20

    bucsfann20 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry guys.

    psycos .99.2b has ota updates disabled automatically.

    should have researched little more.

    one more thing, can anyone tell me what their battery runs on the bugless .72 oc'ed at 800. my battery has dropped significantly.

    thanks
     
Search tags for this page

does update mess up root android

,
if you system update flashed andriod does it mess your phone
,
will the ota update for the razr m mess up my root