Will not load after DROID splash

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by CaliEskimo, Aug 4, 2012.

  1. CaliEskimo
    Offline

    CaliEskimo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have recieved my Verizon Motorola DROID BIONIC and have already lost the SIM card. It tells me on power to touch the android icon but tells me my only options are "emergency call" or "power off". I have ordered a Verizon/Vodaphone SIM from a place that starts with "E" but I would first like to know if I can get by this roadblock some other way in the meantime.
  2. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Verizon/Vodafone SIM won't work. That is for people who go abroad. You need an LTE Sim card which you should be able to get for free from a verizon store.
  3. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,269
    Likes Received:
    592
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    How did you lose your sim card? Why would you not just install it right away?
  4. CaliEskimo
    Offline

    CaliEskimo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Car ride home led to me loosing the SIM card and Verizon told me $15.00 for a new LTE SIM, I was like "no way," they don't give then away free! Can I root it???
  5. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    I shorted my sim card and it was replaced for free. No discussion on insurance. Of course I didn't lose it.

    Really, you need the card, otherwise you're SOL for 4G.
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2012
  6. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you call verizon or go into a store? If you went into a store I would try calling Verizon CS. They tend to be more flexible. Considering, from the sounds of it you haven't had the phone for very long.
  7. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,269
    Likes Received:
    592
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    That's odd. I've heard of some vzw's trying to charge for a sim.. but I've never experienced it.

    Rooting won't do anything for not having a sim. No sim, no phone. Simple as that.
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2012
  8. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,269
    Likes Received:
    592
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    If I were you, and you need the device to operate, go to vzw and get the sim card, have them bill it to your account, then call cs and argue it with them. They would probably remove the charge.
  9. CaliEskimo
    Offline

    CaliEskimo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    See, this is the biggest problem..I'm not a verizon customer and NEVER want to be! If I cant flash or root it then I guess my only choice is to buy a worthless piece of plastic. Remeber, I only want it to run not actually make calls with an outrageously exspensive plan, wifi is the new cellular coverage!!! Anyone have a spare 4G LTE SIM card just lying around!!??
  10. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    That's probably why they wanted to charge you for the card.

    Back in 2005 I had a Motorola E815. At that time, Verizon didn't support OOP so I couldn't send my phone numbers to the built-in phone book in my car via BT. The workaround was to get a cheap BT phone from T-Mobile, put the numbers in that and send them. I had to pay $20 for a T-Mobile sim card, but it was worth it for me at the time.

    You mean another worthless piece of plastic. How much did the then Verizon/Vodafone SIM cost? If you got it from a place beginning with "e" I see it cost $2, but it was designed for the BlackBerry.

    Where did you get the Bionic from? Were you planning to make calls only through WiFi? If so, other phones may have worked better.

    FWIW, I see a 4G sim card selling a place starting with "e" for $4.75 http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-VERIZON...1120606635919059614&pid=100009&prg=1004&rk=4& Whether it'll work for you or not I dunno.
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2012
  11. CaliEskimo
    Offline

    CaliEskimo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I suppose you all who have responded to this forum believe that im cheap...and I am but for good reasons. So, this e*** 2$ SIM card..why is it only for a Blackberry when I can swap various provider SIM cards almost universally when minding what signals the phone can recieve such as CDMA???? I only believe that I can get a cheap SIM and have my DROID recognize it with Verizon. I spend all my time in areas with impeccable wifi hotspots so I have no need for cellular service!
    I also have several other phones, pc's and tablets with iCall and with a BIONIC I do believe I can have quality VOIP calls just fine
  12. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    As a rule, CMDA doesn't use sim cards. The one for the Bionic is for the 4G service so it isn't like the sim cards on T-Mobile, etc.

    The Blackberry Bold will work with GSM or CDMA because it has a dual radio chip. The sim card is for international use.

    Unfortunately, I doubt that if even you had a 4G sim for the Bionic it wouldn't work the way you want it to because Verizon would have to activate the card (to tie it to that phone), and without a plan they may not as it would be toward your account (which you don't have).

    In short, if having a VOIP phone that's only using WiFi is what you want, my advise is to sell the Bionic and go with a non-Verizon phone. Or get a 3G phone because it doesn't need a sim card.
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2012
  13. CaliEskimo
    Offline

    CaliEskimo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, now im reading that this particular Droid is GSM\CDMA\hspa+ compatible and if you read the specs for the BIONIC you see that, so I could use just about any provider theoreticly.
    I just realised that I live in an area with developing 4g coverage let alone LTE..i did not realize all this would happen. I have an awesome phone, very competitive with newer samsung, lg, htc, etc phones and I want to use it on a prepaid account. Now, ive only heard it can be flashed. I do have experience installing recovery ROMs and rooting. I also see that unlock bootloaders are being developed as we speak but with all this "knowledge" obtained why do I feel like I should keep this phone an just try various prepay 3G provided SIM?? There HAS TO BE A WAY...im ending my e*** listing and keeping this awesome phone!
  14. CaliEskimo
    Offline

    CaliEskimo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Haha, lol!!! So the story is to unlock a Motorola Droid Bionic you must swipe clockwise around the green Android from top left to bottom left, as if using the pattern password to unlock. Leave the emergency call and power off buttons alone as you make the swipes! ViolĂ ....unlocked!
    Thanks Ryon for this one!!
  15. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,269
    Likes Received:
    592
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Its not that anyone thinks you're cheap... in today's economy, its smart to be wise with your money...its just that your options are limited in regards to what you will be able to do with that device. :)
  16. deduct
    Online

    deduct Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    What the eeeeeffffff!!!
  17. welsalex
    Offline

    welsalex New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I will also say what the efffff?
  18. CaliEskimo
    Offline

    CaliEskimo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What's the problem?
  19. rbrill177
    Offline

    rbrill177 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Chicago
    He's not talking about an unlocked bootloader. He;s talking about bypassing the emergency screen without having the phone activated with a good SIM card. It's a Moto thing. You basically press in each of the four corners starting top left and going clockwise. Not a big deal.
Search tags for this page
bionic 4glte wont go to home screen
,
droid bionic doesnt load after
,

droid bionic xt875 will not boot

,
droid phone will not load
,
droid x not loading
,
motorola droid ultra will not load
,

motorola xt875 powered on but not loading

,
motorola xt875 will not boot
,
my droid will not load
,
my motorola razr is on emergency call and wont go away
,
my verizon droid ultra wont go off emergency call
,
my verizon droid wont load home screen
,

razr maxx wont boot past the splash

,
sims 3 not loading on droid x
,
verizon xt875 wont load past droid