Will my phone work in Japan?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by hero, Dec 4, 2009.

  1. hero
    Offline

    hero New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i know the calling feature will be out...but will i still be able to use the browser ( and by extension apps like google maps ) and texting/emailing?
     
  2. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    if there is WiFi available. 3G won't work
     
  3. MdicnMan
    Offline

    MdicnMan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +3
    Not as a phone. As Wuyanks said, just as a wifi device.
     
  4. hero
    Offline

    hero New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks guys. that makes sense. i have to believe there should be a lot of wi-fi available out there in the bigger cities like tokyo and such.
     
  5. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'm sure every hotel, most cafes, and a lot of restaurants have wifi access...
     
  6. joemoore3
    Offline

    joemoore3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just got back from Germany and was able to SMS using Google Voice via WiFi. Didn't miss the cell...
     
  7. PatG
    Offline

    PatG Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    It may work. I was in India earlier this year and I got a strong signal.
     
  8. medicTHREE
    Offline

    medicTHREE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    With what phone. The droid is CDMA only, not gsm too, which is what most of the rest of the world uses.
     
  9. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I didn't know you couldn't use the Droid in other countries. No biggie because I don't travel. Just one other thing Storm fanboys will jump on.
     
  10. bakabreath
    Offline

    bakabreath New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was with some friends who have Verizon phones in Tokyo this October and their phones picked up signals (not wifi). I can't really comment on calling from their phones as they did not want to rack up any weird charges, but one friend got message notifications and another got a text message from VZW about international roaming. When I got back stateside, I found this article online:

    CONFIRMED: CDMA roaming works in Japan.
     
  11. PatG
    Offline

    PatG Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Not with the Droid, but with a general Verizon Flip phone. I also think that CDMA is supported in China.
     
Search tags for this page
can i use verizon galaxy s4 with a carrier in tokyo japan
,
do android phones work in japan
,
does verizon work in japan
,
how to use my usa android in japan
,
using android phone in japan
,
will my android work in japan
,
will my at&t phone work in japan
,
will my phone work in japan
,

will my verizon phone work in japan

,
will verizon work in japan