Will my phone work in Japan?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by hero, Dec 4, 2009.

  1. hero

    hero New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i know the calling feature will be out...but will i still be able to use the browser ( and by extension apps like google maps ) and texting/emailing?
     
  2. wuyanks

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    if there is WiFi available. 3G won't work
     
  3. MdicnMan

    MdicnMan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +3
    Not as a phone. As Wuyanks said, just as a wifi device.
     
  4. hero

    hero New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks guys. that makes sense. i have to believe there should be a lot of wi-fi available out there in the bigger cities like tokyo and such.
     
  5. wuyanks

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'm sure every hotel, most cafes, and a lot of restaurants have wifi access...
     
  6. joemoore3

    joemoore3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just got back from Germany and was able to SMS using Google Voice via WiFi. Didn't miss the cell...
     
  7. PatG

    PatG Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    It may work. I was in India earlier this year and I got a strong signal.
     
  8. medicTHREE

    medicTHREE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    With what phone. The droid is CDMA only, not gsm too, which is what most of the rest of the world uses.
     
  9. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I didn't know you couldn't use the Droid in other countries. No biggie because I don't travel. Just one other thing Storm fanboys will jump on.
     
  10. bakabreath

    bakabreath New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was with some friends who have Verizon phones in Tokyo this October and their phones picked up signals (not wifi). I can't really comment on calling from their phones as they did not want to rack up any weird charges, but one friend got message notifications and another got a text message from VZW about international roaming. When I got back stateside, I found this article online:

    CONFIRMED: CDMA roaming works in Japan.
     
  11. PatG

    PatG Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Not with the Droid, but with a general Verizon Flip phone. I also think that CDMA is supported in China.
     
Search tags for this page
can i use verizon galaxy s4 with a carrier in tokyo japan
,
do android phones work in japan
,
does verizon work in japan
,
how to use my usa android in japan
,
using android phone in japan
,
will my android work in japan
,
will my at&t phone work in japan
,
will my phone work in japan
,

will my verizon phone work in japan

,
will verizon work in japan