1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Will ICS update wipe app data?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by skidoo, Jul 7, 2012.

  1. skidoo
    Offline

    skidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    If I use Samuri's script or whatnot to upgrade to the latest ICS leak from 905, will my daughter lose her high score and all her power-ups in Temple Run?

    Yes, yes. Silly question.

    But no, seriously: More broadly, will the data (settings and such) for all of my apps be preserved during this OS upgrade?

    Should I backup everything? Will that even work? That is, will TiBu or whatever even work on "recovery," since it will be an entirely new operating system (environment; dir structures, etc.)?

    Thanks for any info.
  2. bamafan39
    Offline

    bamafan39 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if you've never been on ics you may not want to save any data from 905!
  3. skidoo
    Offline

    skidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Ha! No, I'm (just about) ready to take the plunge. But am I gonna have to reconfigure Facebook and stuff?

    Boy I sound lazy. But really, I'm just trying to get a handle on how much investment I'm looking at when it comes to time. I realize that (according to what everyone's saying) as long as I use Samuri's script, once I'm re-configured on ICS, all will (ostensibly) be cool from then on out.

    But what about going from 905 to ICS? Inquiring minds want to know! :)
  4. bamafan39
    Offline

    bamafan39 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yea his script is more for people already on a leak they can then flash a new leak and keep every thing intact.for the first time i would just flash the latest ics leak in stock recovery and reset up.then after that if they make a new leak you want you can get it with this script and keep everything!
  5. bamafan39
    Offline

    bamafan39 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if you do take the plunge when your in stock recovery be sure to wipe data then wipe cache partitian then flash the leak then reboot then ENJOY YOUR NEW PHONE!
  6. skidoo
    Offline

    skidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Thanks. Hoo-boy. Yeah, I suppose "stock recovery" means exactly what I's afeared it means: recover the phone to its stock configuration, i.e. stock apps only.

    It's not like I have a billion apps installed. I've just got to make sure all my productivity stuff is backed up and whatnot, and then go through the tedium of re-installing and re-configuring Folder Organizer, Pocket Casts, Note Everything, games (for the kids; ahem!).

    Yeah, I do sound like a lazy S.O.B. I'll shut up now.

    [Blur_Version.5.9.905.to.6.7.232.XT875.Verizon.en.US.zip] has been copied to the SD card. Renaming to [update.zip] and re-booting.

    ~FINGERS CROSSED~
  7. bamafan39
    Offline

    bamafan39 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lol!
  8. skidoo
    Offline

    skidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    OK, because I'm such a daredevil, I decided to just wipe the cache partition and leave the data partition alone. Waste of time? Gonna have to do it all over again?

    Anyone want to make a wager?

    No, I'm kidding. I do that when I'm A-SKEARED! :icon_eek:
  9. bamafan39
    Offline

    bamafan39 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it'll be ok the update does it for you i just do it out of habbit!
  10. unbesorgt
    Offline

    unbesorgt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wiping data should not be necessary. I went from .905 to .2233 without wiping data, no problems. Later I used Samurai's script to flash back to .902 and install .230, then again with .232 today. I wiped cache each time but I have yet to wipe data. No issues so far.
  11. skidoo
    Offline

    skidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Successful 6.7.232 installation

    First I want to say...

    View attachment 52511

    Ta-da! And don't let the timestamps on these posts fool you into thinking this was some onerous process. The complete upgrade from 905 to 232 took about...I dunno...15 minutes? All I did was
    1. Copy the update file to my SD card.
    2. Rename it (probably unnecessarily) to [update.zip].
    3. Boot into recovery mode (hold down both volume keys while powering up).
    4. Follow the (simple) menu instructions to select the update, clear the cache (not the data!), and begin the process.
    5. Reboot (it's a menu item).
    6. Let it sit for a while (maybe 5 minutes) and "find itself."
    7. Upgrade a few apps.
    8. Et voila!
    My question regarding whether I'd have to slog through re-installing and reconfiguring apps has been answered. And that answer is no. Most importantly, my daughter's Temple Run high score, stats, and power-ups were preserved :) :

    View attachment 52512

    Beautiful Widgets didn't skip a beat, as is evidenced by the first image and this one:

    View attachment 52513

    On a more serious note, from a productivity standpoint, the most mission critical app I could think of is PrinterShare, which still works just fine, having retained all its preferences and whatnot:

    View attachment 52514

    My favorite podcatcher, Pocket Casts, not only kept its configuration info, but demonstrated (in conjunction with Rdio) that audio playback seems to be working fine:

    View attachment 52515


    Other things of note:
    • FolderOrganizer's settings seem to have been preserved fine, in particular the notification bar settings.
    • The camera focuses faster, seems to have some sort of new anti-shake detector thingy, and picture quality seems at least as good as it was (which was great, for me).
    • Video recording and playback seems fine; I can play videos recorded with 905 just fine.
    • I haven't checked yet to see if the CPU has been "overclocked" to 1.2, but everything seems much faster. Media reading tasks are noticeably faster; games don't have barely-perceptible hitches where they used to.
    • Oh, very important: Google Voice seems to be working perfectly fine. No re-configuration necessary at all.
    • Also very important: WiFi seems to work perfectly fine, and voice and 4G seem to be more sensitive (the device seems to get better reception).
    • Just tested voice quality, and it seems to be better, if there's been any change at all.
    • Granted, I've just gone from 905 to 232, not from 232 to some future build. But for someone who is by disposition gun-shy when it comes to installing these "leaks" and whatnot, for someone who really doesn't like to take the time to nerd-out over something as utilitarian as his phone (not these days anyway), this process was truly painless, and the features in the new OS really do make it feel like a brand new device.
    For those like me (half-nerds?), I say go for it. You won't regret it. Assuming we can upgrade to the final release with no problems. And, after reading about previous experiences and having a look at Samuri's script and whatnot, the evidence suggests that this is a more than reasonable assumption.

    Hope this helps!
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2012
  12. skidoo
    Offline

    skidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
  13. ekf028
    Offline

    ekf028 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Oklahoma
    Awesome huh?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  14. skidoo
    Offline

    skidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Awesome, indeed!

    Notes I would add to the above include:

    Netflix = fine
    Hulu+ = fine
    YouTube = fine

    Embedded Flash Video = nope (expected, I suppose)

    ___
    Sent from my phone. Please excuse typos.
  15. skidoo
    Offline

    skidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Oh, and Swype is even better, if that's possible. And, more importantly, my "dictionary" was retained.

    ___
    Sent from my phone. Please excuse typos.
  16. skidoo
    Offline

    skidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    View attachment 52524

    So this means my processor's essentially running at 1.2GHz now, correct?

    It certainly feels like it.
    ___
    Sent from my phone. Please excuse typos.
  17. brianjr1
    Offline

    brianjr1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You should be able to install flash player from the app store. As well, try those apps with a set of headphones. There seems to be a slight headphone whine on 232.
  18. skidoo
    Offline

    skidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Ah. It never occurred to me that I'd have to reinstall Flash. Thanks. Done.

    Some things work that didn't work before, but embedded video is sporadic, in both Chrome and the stock browser (using rocketjump.com to test).

    As to the infamous whine, I never had it before, and I don't have it now. Using a pair of Klipsch S4 earphones.

    But then, my 40-year-old ears are pretty blown-out anyway.

    ___
    Sent from my phone. Please excuse typos.
  19. skidoo
    Offline

    skidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    It's DEFINITELY using up the battery significantly faster, even after running it down "completely" and recharging.

    Which makes sense if the processor's being jacked up 20% faster at max speed.

    But I could be missing some sort of optimization. For now I've set the screen brightness manually all the way down (before it was set to automatic).

    ___
    Sent from my phone. Please excuse typos.
Search tags for this page
do you lose data when upgrading. ics
,

does i07 upgrade wipe data

,
droid bionic recovery wipe will i lose personal data?
,

ics update delete data

,
ics update without wipe cache
,
temple run high score stats screenshot
,
will apps deleted when upgrading to ics
,
will i lose my apps and data if i upgrade to ics
,
will i lose my apps if i upgrade to ics
,
will i lose my apps updating to ics
,
would the ics update wiped my phone droid 4