Will ICS come to the TBOLT?

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by rjcapp, Dec 18, 2011.

  1. rjcapp

    rjcapp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MD
    Ratings:
    +4
    Will ICS come to the TBOLT?
     
  2. pdroid

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yes, if you're rooted.

    If not, then maybe.

    sent from my bolt
     
  3. chin2334

    chin2334 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    rooted maybe not rooted highly doubtful they said new devices will get it

    Sent from my Awsome Rezound using DroidForums
     
  4. rjcapp

    rjcapp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MD
    Ratings:
    +4
    huge thanks
    reason being is i got a good deal on the nexus and dont need my bionic.
    Wife has a tbolt and needs to decide which on she wants.
    I want to educate her and let her decide the her right choice.....
     
  5. Chukee

    Chukee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    No one on these forums know one way or the other. The closest hint that I have seen that has come from HTC that the thunderbolt will be updated is one of the htc reps posted that dual devices will be updated first and then second generation single cores next. TB has the second generation single core so you can take that for what its worth. but like I said no one knows.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  6. rbw62

    rbw62 Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Look at the crap we went thru to get GB. then ask yourself if you think ICS is likely.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  7. Chukee

    Chukee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just because it took a while to get gb doesn't mean tb won't get ics. You have to remember that the tb had major issues before gb update that had to be taken care of. Just have to wait and see what comes out of HTC mouth and not listen to rumors on forums. I have seen rumors supporting tb getting ics and some saying no. None direct from HTC.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  8. rbw62

    rbw62 Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Sorry, I meant ask yourself, and reply to same.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  9. chin2334

    chin2334 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    even if tb gets ics it will only have sense 2.1 since 3.0 is too much for it

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
     
  10. sgtguthrie

    sgtguthrie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    3.0 is certainly NOT "too much for it"! Have you tried bamf forever with sense 3.0, soab with 3.5, virus's eternity with 3.5... All smooth as it gets! If htc uses that for their excuse, we all know it's just that, an excuse.

    sent via rooted THUNDERBOLT with Tapatalk
     
  11. pogibry

    pogibry Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Utah
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have to agree. I have Eternity's 3.5 and it feels smoother than BAMF 1.09 w/3.0
     
  12. ANDR0lD

    ANDR0lD Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Look, I find it nearly impossible for HTC to be able to generate a fully functional ICS OTA...we all know how they are with OTAs that "improve functionality". ICS has already come to the bolt through a Th3ory ROM that is AOSP and is on Rootzwiki and XDA. It isn't fully operational (its in its alpha phase) but its getting there.

    sent from my Zeus 'Bolt