Will Droid Turbo work w/Fox Fi? What if I buy an unlocked phone? Does that matter?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Turbo' started by TamBam, Dec 24, 2014.

  1. TamBam

    TamBam New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    DROID RAZR
    Hello, I am a newbie. I am not tech savvy, so please reply with simple language, or explanations. I want to upgrade from my DROID RAZR (Verizon) to the Droid TURBO, and FoxFi *does* currently work on my RAZR phone. I am grandfathered into an unlimited data plan and must buy a phone at retail price to keep that plan. Since I have to pay a high price anyway, I do have the option to buy an unlocked phone. Will FoxFi work with an UNlocked phone, or even a locked phone? Thank you.
     
  2. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,354
    Likes Received:
    5,877
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,707
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    Welcome to the forum TamBam! I don't think it does at the moment, but hopefully one of our Turbo members can verify. Good luck!

    S5 tap'n
     
  3. dman4915

    dman4915 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    No it doesn't work it's blocked by Verizon. I just turn on my hotspot through the myverizon app when I need it and just pay $1 a day. It's still worth it if you don't have any other form of internet to just pay for the hotspot.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,994
    Likes Received:
    770
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +936
    USB tether thru FoxFi works.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. N1smo

    N1smo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid 3
    If you have a 4G iPad, you can pull the Sim out of the phone and stick it into the iPad. I have Vonage also and when I use the iPad for data, I forward the cell to Vonage and it would ring my iPad through the Vonage extensions app. To make calls, I use Google Hangout. The great thing about this setup is that Verizon didn't block the iPad's built in tethering so I could tether my laptop and anything else I want to it. I run this setup on long trips since the iPad's battery life is bad ass and I can stream YouTube or whatever on a much bigger screen in the car. That's my middle finger to Verizon, I also have a Moto X that is rooted but I like this setup better. Food for thought.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Wow, using the iPad and your SIM to get wireless tethering is an interesting loophole.
     
  7. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    I'll have to try again... I couldn't get my laptop to connect.
     
  8. TamBam

    TamBam New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    DROID RAZR
    Thanks for the answer dman. I read somewhere else that someone said it would work with a USB cable, but only saw that in one place. I agree with what you said and have somewhat resigned myself to believing that for the few times a year I need a hotspot, I might just have to pay up to Verizon. In the end it's probably still cheaper. And maybe eventually FoxFi will find a way to resolve the block. I'm wondering if any other apps provide what FoxFi does. In any case, now my only question is whether to give up my unlimited data plan, but in the end, I think that decision pays to keep the unlimited (grandfathered) data plan and buy an unlocked phone anyway. Thanks again. Happy New Year.
     
Search tags for this page
can droid turbo use foxfi
,
does foxifi work with motorola droid turbo 2
,
driod turbo and foxfi
,
droid turbo and foxfi
,
droid turbo foxfi
,
foxfi and droid turbo
,

foxfi droid turbo

,
foxfi for droid turbo
,
foxfi work on the turbo
,
foxfi work with droid turbo