WifiTether with Xbox 360?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by dropnCosbys, Feb 4, 2010.

  1. dropnCosbys

    dropnCosbys New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it possible to tether your droid connection to an xbox 360 and play live? I'm rooted with latest version of BB, and have WiFiTether installed.
     
  2. bL33d

    bL33d Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cant say my 360 was banned :icon_ devil:
     
  3. Geken

    Geken New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's definitely possible, but taht's a LOT of data to carry over 3G I'm pretty sure...Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  4. dropnCosbys

    dropnCosbys New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, I was thinking the same thing, but was wondering if it was possible.
     
  5. Acid7711

    Acid7711 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    After watching how much traffic really moves across my firewall with xbox live 360, it's hardly any really. All it is, is the games themselves and maps are loaded locally, while simple co-ordinates were simply passed among other people. Not much information at all really..... I was surprised.
     
  6. dropnCosbys

    dropnCosbys New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So have you tethered to the 360 with your Droid?
     
  7. Newton122189

    Newton122189 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have, i am right now actually, in mw2 i get either 2 yellow bars or 3 green bars, the lag is not that bad unless you get texts or phone calls then its game over
     
  8. dahotz

    dahotz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    It will work, I would use a verizon wireless aircard when my cable was down for a week by bridging the connection from my laptop to my 360 and it worked. Then I used my BB Storm to tether. So the android tether would be same deal. Calls or texts mess it up though, the only downside, and that it obviously is slower than home internet, but not too bad.
     
  9. ska8r411

    ska8r411 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami1683's Attic
    Ratings:
    +0
    For this u need a laptop and vista or windows seven.
    Tether laptop.
    Go to connections u shud see ur wifi (connectedd via droid)
    And the LAN connection.
    Select both,right click and click BRIDGE
    Btw u shud have your xbox and laptop connected with ethernet
    Go on your xbox and test network connection FIRST and select detect ip adreas
    Automatically.
    And then connect to live and it should work

    I played mw2 going 80mph down highway useing portable dvd screen. Connection is good
     
  10. dropnCosbys

    dropnCosbys New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right on. Thanks man. Ill give it a try
     
  11. TekHawk

    TekHawk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yuba ****ty, California
    Ratings:
    +0
    i did WoW + Vent with like 7 people for about 2 hours one night just to see if it could be done funny enough I was not lagging few others where yelling about thier lag that night
     
  12. jakheb

    jakheb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    and to bridge you need to have 2 LAN or high speed wireless. so you have to do it with the bluetooth? theres no way to use usb?
     
  13. jakheb

    jakheb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    is it possible to tether with x360 thru pdanet?
     
  14. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,717
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +169
    There was another thread about this and apparently it is possible. You really have to be careful with PDANet, because although you're using data from your phone, you're going to be really using a lot of Data very quickly and is a big old red flag to Big Red. I used to work for VZW in a call center so I know the trends.
     
  15. xabeon

    xabeon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    A common misconception is that games use alot of bandwidth, unless you're downloading a map or addon sound/files gaming bandwidth is actually quite small. What hits you hardest is the latency, and 3G connections typically get you triple digit latencies. It makes sense if you think what has to happen between your xbox 360 and the other peers, its a wonder you could play decently at all.
     
Search tags for this page
can i cether my xoom tablet to my xbox 360
,
can you usb tether xbox 360
,
how to tether wifi fron usb to white x box
,

tether samsung fascinate to xbox 360

,
tether to xbox 360 from android
,
white xbox 360 from android
,
www.androidx.com/tether#ubs with xbox360
,
xbox usb tether