WiFi Won't Connect Using WPA, WPA2

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by jwkidd864, Apr 6, 2010.

  1. jwkidd864
    Offline

    jwkidd864 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Blue Ridg Mountains
    I've checked the threads on this topic and have found a lot of questions, but no answers that have worked for me. I'm using a Linksys 400N at home and trying to connect using WPA/WPA2. No problems connecting any other devices--just my Droid. It connects and operates fine using WEP at home OR 802.1x at work!
  2. jwkidd864
    Offline

    jwkidd864 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Blue Ridg Mountains
    WiFi & WPA2

    Due to no replies to this post, I set aside time yesterday to comb through a series of posts on this forum's "front page." I read through several threads with "Wifi" in the title. I concentrated on those with relatively high numbers of views and came across, what was for me a "nugget." It appears the Android system truly does have a hang up with this combination on home router/WAPs--using WPA2 and not broadcasting the SSID. Linksys calls this "WiFi Protected Access."

    One of the posts I read suggested to temporarily broadcast the SSID (using WPA2) and Droid will connect. This worked for me. The other suggestions was... having connected once with the broadcasted SSID, one could subsequently stop broadcasting it and still connect. I learned this was not the case for me. In the final analysis, I ended up using my Linksys WRT-400N manual settings to allow broadcast of the SSID for only the G-band, which is all Droid will use anyway. It still allows use of WPA2 security (while broadcasting SSID), which at the end of the day, is a security increase over WEP. Hope this helps some of you experiencing the same or similar problems! :blackdroid:
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2010
  3. 05Ravenr6
    Offline

    05Ravenr6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    718
    I am gonna hafta try this cause I was having the same issue at home!
  4. Grabraham
    Offline

    Grabraham New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Just as a headsup- Do not get to worried about broadcasting SSIDs. The amount of 'security' hiding the SSID gives you is very small.
  5. odiaz
    Offline

    odiaz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine was conencting fine with WPA but now it won't conenct anymore. I don't know why. sometimes I canget ti to connect after removing the network and readding it several times but when I return home it will no longer connect. I've spent almost 2 hours fiddling with it this time and I can't get it to connect at all. I even rebooted it. nothing.
  6. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1 for everything said here. Broadcast SSID, make sure you broadcast in B/G/N Mixed mode (as Droid uses G), and make sure you dont have a MAC filter running on your router.
  7. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    When in doubt, reboot the router.

    no issues on wpa2, with or without ssid bcast here.
  8. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    +1 Everyone forgets the reboot option for the router. This usually clears up 95 out of 100 issues
  9. odiaz
    Offline

    odiaz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I called verizon and had to have this issue escalated to tier 2. they told me this is a known problem and suggested I call verizon. In the mean time I dowloaded WiFi Buddy from the market and that tool solved the problem. Now I can reconenct to all remembered networks.
  10. afigura
    Offline

    afigura New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid used to be able to connect to WPA wifi

    I'm not sure but I think that ever since I upgraded my Droid's OS to 2.1 I haven't been able to connect to my home's WiFi, which is WPA protected and SSID not broadcast. I was definitely connecting to my home WiFi prior to the upgrade. Is there a connection here?

    Also, WiFi Buddy doesn't seem to be of any help to me. It detects the network just fine but I still can't connect into it.
    Last edited: May 9, 2010
  11. uberpruek
    Offline

    uberpruek New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Firebox X edge

    Okay, I know this is an old thread and all, but after reading countless amounts of information on wireless hangups, I have come to get assistance from other minds.

    Setup, I am running 2.2 on Droid (orig) and my network consists of Firebox X-edge W. I run WPA2/PSK now simply because the PS3 only supports that. Well, I have NEVER been able to connect to my wireless using this authentication. I can connect to a optional wireless network using WEP, but I have to lock down with MAC filtering and come on, MAC filter is like a 5 minute scan hack...spoof MAC then you can take another 5 minutes to crack WEP. I assume everyone can do this, but I know only a few can, but youtube allows more that should know how to now.

    Anyway, WPA doesn't work either. If anyone has a nudge for me, I would be willing to take it. I have tech support with Watchguard and have contacted them about this issue and they all point me to the Droid. They said they have had other boxes of their wireless products work with it, so I figured they were trying to sell me another box. Don't need one...now if anyone has any suggestions on a different security appliance that is sub $500 that will work with this, please I am all ears. Need the wireless though cause can't run wires don't own house.

    Thanks for any input
  12. dvdcatalyst
    Online

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    I actually managed to get WPA (Airport router) to work with my Droid X, but it was instable. I was already using a work-around for a "location-free" box (so I can access my TiVo from a laptop anywhere) by using an old router as an access point.

    Set the router up with an internal fixed IP that matches your IP range from your main router. Make sure the IP you give it is not one from your main dhcp range. Turn off DHCP on this router, and enable wireless. Connect the wifi router to your main router using a lan-port (not the WAN). Don't forget to set the security to WEP

    When you connect to it wirelessly, you should get an IP addy from the main router, providing wifi access on your Droid and access to your internal network.

    Another option is to set the router up on a different IP range internally than your main network (192.168.2.1 vs 192.168.1.1) aqnd connect it with the WAN port to your main router. Leave DHCP on the other one enabled. Then you can connect to the internet, but will not have access to your local network.
  13. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Something funny about this response. See if you can spot it. And odiaz, I'm not picking on you, I just thought it was amusing.;)
  14. maureend
    Offline

    maureend New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    FIXED!!

    I was having the same problem. Droid 2 trying to connect to my home Linksys WRT54GS Router with WPA2 Personal with TKIP+AES.

    The Droid would keep saying "Obtaining IP address..." but then would disconnect, and actually never fully connected at all.

    After doing a bunch of research on this, here's the fix that worked for me:

    On the Droid, go to Wireless Settings, then hit Menu > Advanced.
    Check "Use Static IP"
    I gave it a static IP of 192.168.1.149 (I have my router address at 192.168.1.1 with an allowance of 50 DHCP users, so I put the droid up there at #49)
    Gateway: 192.168.1.1
    Netmask: 255.255.255.0
    DNS1: 208.67.222.222
    DNS2: 208.67.220.220

    These 2 DNS numbers are from opendns.com. Someone on another thread said it worked for them, so I tried it and it worked for me too.

    As soon as I tried it, I instantly got the full wireless signal.

    I hope this helps someone else!

    Maureen
  15. BigMcGuire
    Offline

    BigMcGuire New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I can always connect to my routers. It's keeping internet access that's my problem, and my friend's problem, and my parent's problem. Sure you can browse webpages for 5-10 mins but after that, almost everyone I know with a droid loses the ability to connect to the internet even though WiFi remains connected.
  16. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did this and it worked for 5 minutes before disconnecting again.
    Motorola...I am disappoint.

    I also went through http://checkip.dyndns.org/ and found out that the router IP is 71.204.88.89, so I plugged that number in for my Static IP and Gateway.
    No luck.
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2010
  17. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  18. gwtx2
    Offline

    gwtx2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Fix

    I had this same issue. My Dlink DIR-655 router was set to

    WPA Mode: Auto (WPA or WPA2)
    Cipher Type: TKIP and AES

    I changed it to

    WPA Mode: Auto (WPA or WPA2)
    Cipher Type: AES

    and the Droid connected. SSID has always been broadcasted.
  19. RETG
    Offline

    RETG Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    West of the Rockies, East of the Pacific
    Cannot remember what my D-link N-router is set at since it has been over a years since I set it up. However, I do know it is set to WPA2, and after I spent the time to plug in my 50 character password, the X connected immediately and has always worked fine.
  20. itchn2go
    Offline

    itchn2go New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this is working. thanks for posting.

Search tags for this page
android can't connect to wpa
,

android can't connect to wpa2

,
android cannot connect to wifi wpa2
,
android cannot connect wpa2
,
android cant connect wpa2
,

android wifi wpa

,
android wont connect to wifi wpa
,
android wont connect to wpa
,
android wont connect to wpa wifi
,

android wpa

,
android wpa wifi
,
android wpa/wpa2
,

droid wpa2

,
wpa wifi android
,
wpa2 android problems