wifi tethering/ tethering in general problems

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by ChevyNexus, Jul 18, 2010.

  1. ChevyNexus
    Offline

    ChevyNexus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toledo Ohio
    Ok so one of the main reasons I rooted was so I could tether to my dads acer laptop. Well it seems that I can't tether or wifi teather it.

    When I rooted to froyo I tried to wired tether it but I hit the tether. Button an all that happened was the comp recognized my Droid but I had no internet connection when I started. I.e. so did I do something wronged? I run windows XP btw.

    Wifi it seems sends out the signal but wont stay connected for long an as I said in a prior post, my kbps up is always larger then my kbps down(idk if that has somthing to do with it?) But it says its connected once again I open I.e. an nothing happens...

    So please can someone tell me what I'm doin wronge? I mean this is almost pushing me to get rid of my droid an go to black berry an pay for that feature or see if the iphone has that feature. Id love to have atleast one or the other working..
  2. cromo8
    Offline

    cromo8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i will reccomend downloading the app wireless tethering or barnacle tether, both of those work great for me for both mac and pc's, i dont use the ones in the setting menu because those dont ever work for me
  3. ChevyNexus
    Offline

    ChevyNexus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toledo Ohio
    tried em...

    Tried both(can't use wifi period if u don't downloadd one or the other haha) neither worked

    Wireless tethering-app got it recognize but would drop off soon after an never worked to evenm start up google.

    Barnacle-comp didn't even recognize it was there.

    =/
  4. Relex
    Offline

    Relex New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was about to post a thread about this as well. My wired tether in froyo works but I downloaded the wireless tether and connect to it with my pc but can't get any web pages to load.

    I've tried two different roms and have yet to get it to work.
  5. ChugIt
    Offline

    ChugIt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN.
    Do not use the built in tethering in Froyo, download the app as cromo8 said. Wireless tethering in Froyo is for paid subscriptions through VZW (which isn't even officially supported for Droid yet). I have used it messing around on my PSP and it worked fine. I hope this helps.
  6. ChevyNexus
    Offline

    ChevyNexus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toledo Ohio
    As I said already tried em but idk why they won't work.
  7. ffej89
    Offline

    ffej89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried EasyTether?
  8. ChevyNexus
    Offline

    ChevyNexus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toledo Ohio
    wow it actually worked an i didnt have to pay ten bucks like i thought i would for easy tether thanks bro im on it now typen this!
  9. _Killer_
    Offline

    _Killer_ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Marietta Ga
    Gonna try easy tether myself... BUT...

    I'm having some issues as well with "wireless tether for android" and "barnacle" ................. with Wireless tether my nat settings are showing as 'moderate' and with barnacle they are 'strict'.. I NEED THESE TO BE OPEN!!! any suggestions?? trying to runs this for xbox live... like i said it will connect.. and i can stream netflix and what not.. BUT with un-open nat i will not be able to get in any games.

    i've tried using pdanet and what not for a normal tether (as in not wireless) but my comp is vista.. and therefore is gay..
Search tags for this page

barnacle cannot connect to nat

,
barnacle could not connect to nat
,

barnacle wifi tether cannot connect to nat

,
barnacle wifi tether could not connect to nat
,
barnacle wifi tether not working in windows xp
,
can tether to computer but will not stay connected
,
how to set barnicle to open nat
,
internet explorer wont open web pages with wifi tether
,
run vita off tether open nat
,
tetheringtethering
,
wifi tether won't stay connected
,
windows xp can not connect to tether