1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

WiFi Tether

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by balticzar, Nov 16, 2011.

  1. balticzar
    Offline

    balticzar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North East
    Well, I'm rooted. That's done. Drocap2 screen capture up and working as well. However, I'm having issues getting WiFi tether to work. Any tips guys?

    Tried Open Garden as well as the original WiFi Tether for root users (3.1 beta 6) from their web site.
  2. balticzar
    Offline

    balticzar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North East
    Forget it. Sorry.
    Just found the post about sqlite editor. Trying that now. Thanks.
  3. balticzar
    Offline

    balticzar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North East
    Well.....the sqlite editor fix did not work for me. So....anybody have any suggestions? Thanks.
  4. epphllps
    Offline

    epphllps New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TN
    Here is what works. Newest experimental and select Motorola Targa then Auto. Enable encryption. Works great.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
  5. MasterChiefB117
    Offline

    MasterChiefB117 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Repost

    What Wireless Tether are you using. Open Wireless Tether, hit menu, go to About, check your version.
    If your on 3.1beta6, it wont work, idk why but just wont, no matter what setting or editing.

    Heres my specific set up to get mine running to get my Transformer, Asus laptop, my PS3 and Xbox 360 to see my phone and connect to it

    Step 1. Go to this link via your phone and download this version of Wireless Tether,

    wifi_tether_v3_1-pre101.apk - android-wifi-tether - WiFi Tether for Root Users 3.1-pre101 *** EXPERIMENTAL *** - Wireless Tether for Root Users - Google Project Hosting

    Step 2. install it, duh!

    Step 3. Go into settings and follow this down to the letter,

    Change Device Profile-Motorola Targa
    Change Setup-Method-Dont touch
    Enable Wifi-Encryption-This is a must because with out it, no device will not see your SSID, have to manual enter them ie. laptop to connect.
    Change Passphrase-Has to be at least 13 letters/numbers. By default it was setup with abcdefghijklk. Either keep it like that or change it.
    Change SSID-Change to what ever you want it to be
    Change Channel-I had a couple of my friends try different setting and seems to work but for best results use "Channel 06(2437)"

    DO NOT ENABLE ACCESS-CONTROL- very buggy, sometimes you'll see your SSID but nO password attached, meaning its an open wifi even though its not.

    Everything else leave them alone, if you want, unless you like the vibrate feature....

    Now from here back out from from Wireless Tether and go back, Someone said that you might need to force close the app via app manager. I didnt have to but try and see if that helps. From there you should see the app start with your data usage at the bottom. Next go to anything that can get WIFI. I used my laptop, my Transformer, and my Xbox. Works fine with no problem. The only thing i have problems is that the Razr 4G drains battery like crazy. Ill post up a vid on it today after I get out of work. Grave yard sucks....[
  6. jacobjer
    Offline

    jacobjer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm rooted and I went the sql editor route and I'm using the stock hot spot app. I on the other hand am I having issues. I can’t load some sites when I'm tethering. Example I frequent the CBC hockey site and watch the videos of games and shows via their video player (yes I have unlimited data) can’t get the video to load any video it just acts like it’s going to load and doesn’t. This is restricted to just tethering now. I can't even get the video to play on my phone now after I rooted (not saying their related). I've had friends try with their phones that aren't rooted same issue. No idea on this one...I also can't get yahoo to load when tethering. But loads fine on my razr. I've downloaded opera and fire fox same issue. I site that used to work no longer does and I making it work or knowing why it doesn't now and did a week ago is perplexing me.
  7. Graymayre
    Offline

    Graymayre New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY
    I've had similar issues. I also get alot of issues with sites requiring certification

    The answer is 42.
    Oh, wait, you mean to tell me you need to know the question now?
    Well, I can't answer that.
  8. jacobjer
    Offline

    jacobjer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I changed the dhcp to 192.168.42.2 - if that's what 42 is referring to.
    If not...hint please.
  9. RedTarget
    Offline

    RedTarget New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I believe 42 refers to The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy and is just part of Graymayre's signature. Really great set of books if you have the time!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
  10. jacobjer
    Offline

    jacobjer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Darn!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  11. basschica
    Offline

    basschica New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was already rooted and this method worked flawlessly for me. Thanks!




  12. drdunga
    Offline

    drdunga New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
Search tags for this page
does wifi tethering work on a rooted droid razr m?
,
droid razr m laptop usb wifi
,

droid razr wifi tether

,
forgot password to tether on razr m
,
how to get wifi to work on driod razr
,
how to tether razor hd with ps3
,
how to use open garden on xbox 360
,
open garden on xbox 360
,
open garden wifi tether apk
,
razr motorola tethering wi fi problema
,
sqlite editor open garden wifi htc rezound
,
tether motorola razor wifi
,
tether xbox 360 to droid razr
,
wifi tether for root users apk 3.1
,
wufi tether android razr