Wifi tether

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate Development' started by Mordeth, Nov 25, 2010.

  1. Mordeth
    Offline

    Mordeth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pensacola, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are there any wifi tethers out there that work great with my fascinate????

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  2. zadrozny44
    Offline

    zadrozny44 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Download z4 root app and root your phone then download wifi tether app ....works great with my fascinate!

    Sent from my SCH-I500
     
  3. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    You'll want the app from my signature, but you'll need to be rooted first. Either use the method outlined in another link in my signature or download z4root.

    I'd thought you'd need a different kernel, but the Fascinate apparently comes with a netfilter-enabled kernel. :) Good luck!
     
  4. djras1
    Offline

    djras1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use PDAnet. Works very well. Just got back from trailer camping in Big Bear and tethered my laptop for 2-3 hours all weekend.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  5. Slntagent
    Offline

    Slntagent Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. klaudiadroid2
    Offline

    klaudiadroid2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    rialto california
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is this wifi tethering free?
    What about pdanet

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  7. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    It's free to install, free to use, but to do is is a violation of your TOS. Just putting that out there. :)

    PDA Net costs to get to HTTPS sites.

    Oh, and USB tethering is just as fast but charges your battery.
     
  8. jogutier
    Offline

    jogutier Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe u still have to enabke ur 3g hot spot? My wireless tether makes me enable it. Am I doing something wrong

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  9. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Not to sound snotty, but are you rooted? Otherwise yes, you are unless I'm totally off-base on the Inc.
     
  10. Jerome900
    Offline

    Jerome900 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so im rooted to 2.4 superclean and i wondering how wifi tether works. I downloaded barnacle wifitether and was wondering if it just uses the usb cable and if it costs like u would b useing the mobile hotspot.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  11. Jamis0n
    Offline

    Jamis0n Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Read in on the SC posts. There is a new kernal for 2.6 that has wifi cover up. O guess Verizon is cracking down on free wifi tether.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  12. cruiser56
    Offline

    cruiser56 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why can't I find wireless tether anywhere even market
     
  13. Italian Angel
    Offline

    Italian Angel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Orlando area
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1 experimental doesn't work and I need to tether my transformer... thought maybe it was a compatibility issue with 2.3.4 and 3.2.

    I'm running pe6.5 and just updated the tab to 3.2

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  14. bill1253
    Offline

    bill1253 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
  15. spindizzy
    Offline

    spindizzy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What works for rooted Thunderbolt

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
Similar Threads
  1. craigboy
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,659
  2. qkpony
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,033
  3. bsmith0731
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    2,019
  4. jcwilliams
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  5. 4low4fun
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
Loading...
Search tags for this page
does a samsumg sch828c have a tethering setup
,
enabke hotspot on htc thunderbolt verizon
,
how do tether a samsung galaxy sch- i500
,
samsung fascinate wifi tether
,
samsung i500 tethering
,
samsung sch-828c update root download
,
sch i500 tethering
,
sch-i500 tether free
,
sch-i500 wifi tether
,

tether sch-i500