1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Wifi Tether not working

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by jailmakerjr, Jul 2, 2012.

  1. jailmakerjr
    Offline

    jailmakerjr New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a razr rooted with the ota zip installed my wifi tether gives me a error and wont show up as a network. when i look in the show log it says ad hoc error. Anybody know why this is happening and how i can fix it. thanks

    Edit thanks for all the help hot the entitlement hack back.
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2012
  2. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    201
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    It appears that ICS has killed the ability to use at ad hoc feature. Some people say that FoxFi is still working with ICS but I have not tried it myself.
  3. akiles
    Offline

    akiles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    FoxFi works on *.211
    If it does not, force stop it, clear cache and data and restart the phone -it may be a little temperamental from time to time.
    I used to connect via bluetooth, but I haven't tried yet.
  4. jsandy
    Offline

    jsandy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After I installed the ICS zip update to my rooted Razr Maxx on .181 GB my WIFI Tether stopped working with the same ad hoc error message. For some reason I can not get FoxFi to work either.However this: How to Get Free 4G LTE Wifi Tether/Mobile Hotspot on Rooted Droid Razr! | DroidRazrRoot.com worked for me. Note that some people have said that the "Entitlement" is now on line 79 but it was still on line 150 for me. When I turn wifi hotspot on I don't get the prompt from Verizon. My lap top finds it right away but it sometimes takes a minute (literally) to make the internet connection.
    I really liked wifi tether and expect that there will be a work around soon. Until then, this works for me.


    EDIT: After reading akiles response I retried FoxFi. Did the force close and wipes. Restarted the phone and it works fine now. Thanks, akiles!
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2012
  5. akiles
    Offline

    akiles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Just tested my RAZR's bluetooth tether paired with my Samsung S7 running Windows8 consumer preview.
    It worked. My phone is on LTE, and I got 1.53mb/sec dl and .52up.
    Good enough for me, since there is no need to install any other apps.
  6. akiles
    Offline

    akiles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    I heard you may get "metered" if you use the entitlement hack...
    I also heard from a vz employee bluetooth is not traceable.
    What does FoxFi say? What's the error? Have you tried clearing the apps cache and data?

Search tags for this page
chyba wifi tether
,
droid bionic wifi tether not working
,
gb wifi tether problem
,
network error when tethering wifi
,
network error wifi tethering
,
razr ad havoc
,

samsung galaxy s3 tethering error

,
setting ad-hoc mode error
,

tethering started with errors galaxy s3

,

wifi tether ad hoc error

,

wifi tether error

,
wifi tether galaxy note 3
,
wifi tether ics fix
,
wireless tether for root users tethering started with errors
,
wireless tether not working on droid razr