Wifi Tether not working..

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by bobmundo123, Feb 7, 2010.

  1. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    SG4.5 here and it worked right off the bat.
    If its as fast as your Comcast I just gotta ask....is your Droid using wifi or the cell towers to connect to the internet. That would make a difference in the speed :)
     
  2. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    This will fix it:

    [FONT=&quot]http://code.google.com/p/android-wifi-tether/downloads/list[/FONT]


    Go to that page and download either file pre4 or pre5. Move to the root of your sdcard.

    On the phone, uninstall your app Wifi Tether for Rooted Phones.

    Using your file manager, install the pre4 or pre5.

    You are done. Wifi tether should now work right off the bat. No fiddling or fixes needed.

    BTW, I tried pre6 and even though it is supposed to be the latest and greatest, I could not get it to work on my Droid.
     
  3. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'll give that a try. But if I uninstall a paid app, how do I get it back without paying for it again? I'm assuming I have to reinstall it right?
     
  4. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Yes, it will show in your downloads as "purchased".
     
  5. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
    LOL
    I can't find it in the Market.... did I install it from somewhere else?
    Maybe my brain is fried from yesterday.

    Nevermind, "stupid is as stupid does" ;-)
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2010
  6. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    It's not a market app. You have to go Menu/Settings/Applications/Mange Apps then select Wifi Tether for Rooted Phones and one of the options will be to uninstall.

    Then when you open Astro (that's the file manager I use) and select the pre4 or pre5 apk, select Open App Manager and then one of the options will be to install.
     
  7. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks that was it. You guys all rock!
     
  8. jnev
    Offline

    jnev Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just tried to uninstall pre3 from my droid, but for some reason it's not listed under manage apps so I can't uninstall it! I tried opening pre6.apk from astro, but it still wouldn't let me uninstall the original wifi tether app I had installed. What's the deal? Why isn't it listed under manage apps, and where can I find it?
     
  9. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    1. Do you have Wifi Tethering for Rooted Phones in your app drawer?
    2. Don't use pre6. I tried it over and over and it would never work on my Droid. Use pre4 or 5. YMMV

    Sometimes it takes a few seconds for the native Manage Apps program to load the correct names for the apps. They can show up as their android/location name. Open manage apps again and scroll down to the bottom of the list a wait a few.
     
  10. jnev
    Offline

    jnev Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I have wifi tether installed and working just fine. I guess I really don't NEED to upgrade anything, but I saw that there was a new release and decided to try anyways. Usually when you download and apk that is an updated version of an app you already have installed, and open it (through astro) in app manager it'll prompt you to upgrade that app to the version you downloaded. In this case it only gave me the option to uninstall, but when I did that it said 'uninstall failed'. And I waited for the wifi tether app to pop up in the manage apps settings pain, and it never did. any other ideas?
     
  11. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    No other ideas from me. If you have it working, I guess that's good enough.

    I still think it is listed in the Manage Apps section. Go to that again and when you have the list of apps, do menu/sort by size. My wifi program is 784kb and there is really nothing else very close to that size. See if you have something in that 700-800kb size that is ambiguously name. Just a shot in the dark. (I'm curious now)
     
  12. r-dubya
    Offline

    r-dubya Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    houston
    Ratings:
    +0
    LOL, the wifi tether app i use came with the Sholes ROM. Not sure it is on the market
     
  13. jnev
    Offline

    jnev Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    haha this is just weird. It's not listed there. I don't know where else it could be since I manually installed it. I did install sholes and then droidmod after, but I uninstalled them afterwards (so I'm on stock ROM now). could they have maybe moved the file somewhere since they install their own copy of the program?
     
  14. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    'Spose so. You could hook the droid to the pc and use windows explorer to search for wifi? Getting sort of involved isn't it? Good luck.
     
  15. jcboyett
    Offline

    jcboyett Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia, United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went to the site listed above to download the pre5 wifi tethering and it works great when I have an open connection, but I want to use a WiFi-Encryption so I can control who connects to my phone. When I do this I can't get my pc to connect
     
Search tags for this page
android wi-fi tether not working
,
android wifi tether not working
,
cricket tethering not working
,
wifi tether app not working
,
wifi tether for root not working
,
wifi tether for root users not working
,

wifi tether not working

,
wifi tether not working rooted droid
,
wifi tether not working sgh-t999 cyanogenmod
,
wireless tether not working