1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

WiFi Tether in ICS .230

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by Regulator, Jul 3, 2012.

  1. Regulator
    Offline

    Regulator New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    So seeing as our only working wifi tether app foxfi was patched out in the .229 leak I strongly believe we have a moto spy among us reporting these things back. Anyway has anyone developed a work around for wifi tethering? Foxfi starts but has no connectivity, wifi tether app still has the same issue. Ive done the sql entitlement hack and it works great but im iffy about using the built in app as im sure its reported separate tethering usage as its designed. Thoughts?
  2. bbucks36
    Offline

    bbucks36 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando,FL
    im still on .2233 wifi tether was working when you set device to generic ICS..did that not with .229?
  3. iveman89
    Offline

    iveman89 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    bluetooth tethering work? Im still on regular OS no leaks. give it a try
  4. CamoCustom
    Offline

    CamoCustom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am on .229, and FOXfi works for me
  5. wseyller
    Offline

    wseyller New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    Was on 2233. I could never get wifi tether to work and I tried every profile. Foxfi would show me the network but always had an error when trying to connect. I just got on 230 a minute ago so I haven't tried anything yet.
  6. wseyller
    Offline

    wseyller New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    On 230: I just tried wifi tether and saw the network available but it gave me an error trying to connect. With foxfi it gives me an error in the app "WiFi mode has failed on your phone. Please use Bluetooth mode instead
  7. hodgewdm
    Offline

    hodgewdm New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    FoxFi works for me

    I just upgraded to .230 last night and just tried FoxFi. It took a little longer to connect but it still works..
  8. jimbarr
    Offline

    jimbarr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just got .2233 to root, and WiFi Tether now works like a charm (when set to "Generic ICS") -- @Thanks!
  9. wseyller
    Offline

    wseyller New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    wondering why everyone is having so many different results.
  10. bbucks36
    Offline

    bbucks36 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando,FL
    its shake-n-bake and i helped:biggrin:
  11. bhp117
    Offline

    bhp117 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i just tried foxfi, the 1st time it won't connect so i rebooted the phone, after reboot foxfi start up again and start working
    i notice that happens to all ics leaks with foxfi
    after reboot it should work again
    currently on 230
  12. Regulator
    Offline

    Regulator New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    This is really odd but foxfi just started working again after hours of it not working last night.
    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  13. wseyller
    Offline

    wseyller New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    I finally got foxfi to work at least once. But it took a long time to connect and it told me there was an issue and would have limited connectivity. It did work however.
  14. liftedplane
    Offline

    liftedplane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington State
    so I might be using the wrong version of wifi tether, however I only see generic, not generic ICS which version do I need to use of wireless thether for root users
  15. bhp117
    Offline

    bhp117 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you can find it the playstore that they recently released
  16. liftedplane
    Offline

    liftedplane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington State
    I actually had to go download the 3.2 beta 1 it was in there and it works great now
  17. Regulator
    Offline

    Regulator New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    Verify your version number. To my knowledge 3.1 beta 14 is the most current

    Edit: found it on the site
    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  18. player52
    Offline

    player52 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    ive vbeen trying to get mine to work with both foxfi and wifi tether for root users

    ive tried chaning profiles and what not and still nothing so im stuck using pdanet until their is something i can use
  19. Regulator
    Offline

    Regulator New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    Foxfi is the only thing working for me. Even the new wifi tether 3.2 pre 1 doesnt work

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  20. player52
    Offline

    player52 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    already tried that and it didn't work for me

    ive deleted cache and still nothing mind sharing the steps you did to get it to work.
Search tags for this page
any way to wifi tether ics
,
bionic liquid smooth tether
,
bionic tether hack using sql
,

foxfi keeps crashing

,

ics droid x sqlite tether

,
tethering for motorola droid x ics
,

why does foxfi keep crashing