WiFi Tether in ICS .230

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by Regulator, Jul 3, 2012.

  1. Regulator
    Offline

    Regulator Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    So seeing as our only working wifi tether app foxfi was patched out in the .229 leak I strongly believe we have a moto spy among us reporting these things back. Anyway has anyone developed a work around for wifi tethering? Foxfi starts but has no connectivity, wifi tether app still has the same issue. Ive done the sql entitlement hack and it works great but im iffy about using the built in app as im sure its reported separate tethering usage as its designed. Thoughts?
     
  2. bbucks36
    Offline

    bbucks36 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Orlando,FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    im still on .2233 wifi tether was working when you set device to generic ICS..did that not with .229?
     
  3. iveman89
    Offline

    iveman89 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    bluetooth tethering work? Im still on regular OS no leaks. give it a try
     
  4. CamoCustom
    Offline

    CamoCustom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am on .229, and FOXfi works for me
     
  5. wseyller
    Offline

    wseyller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    Ratings:
    +8
    Was on 2233. I could never get wifi tether to work and I tried every profile. Foxfi would show me the network but always had an error when trying to connect. I just got on 230 a minute ago so I haven't tried anything yet.
     
  6. wseyller
    Offline

    wseyller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    Ratings:
    +8
    On 230: I just tried wifi tether and saw the network available but it gave me an error trying to connect. With foxfi it gives me an error in the app "WiFi mode has failed on your phone. Please use Bluetooth mode instead
     
  7. hodgewdm
    Offline

    hodgewdm Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    FoxFi works for me

    I just upgraded to .230 last night and just tried FoxFi. It took a little longer to connect but it still works..
     
  8. jimbarr
    Offline

    jimbarr Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just got .2233 to root, and WiFi Tether now works like a charm (when set to "Generic ICS") -- @Thanks!
     
  9. wseyller
    Offline

    wseyller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    Ratings:
    +8
    wondering why everyone is having so many different results.
     
  10. bbucks36
    Offline

    bbucks36 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Orlando,FL
    Ratings:
    +1
    its shake-n-bake and i helped:biggrin:
     
  11. bhp117
    Offline

    bhp117 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    i just tried foxfi, the 1st time it won't connect so i rebooted the phone, after reboot foxfi start up again and start working
    i notice that happens to all ics leaks with foxfi
    after reboot it should work again
    currently on 230
     
  12. Regulator
    Offline

    Regulator Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is really odd but foxfi just started working again after hours of it not working last night.
    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
     
  13. wseyller
    Offline

    wseyller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    Ratings:
    +8
    I finally got foxfi to work at least once. But it took a long time to connect and it told me there was an issue and would have limited connectivity. It did work however.
     
  14. liftedplane
    Online

    liftedplane Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ratings:
    +139
    so I might be using the wrong version of wifi tether, however I only see generic, not generic ICS which version do I need to use of wireless thether for root users
     
  15. bhp117
    Offline

    bhp117 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    you can find it the playstore that they recently released
     
Search tags for this page
any way to wifi tether ics
,
bionic liquid smooth tether
,
bionic tether hack using sql
,

foxfi keeps crashing

,
ics droid x sqlite tether
,
tethering for motorola droid x ics
,

why does foxfi keep crashing