Wifi Tether from Froyo on Mac?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by kzmania, Jun 27, 2010.

  1. kzmania
    Offline

    kzmania New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, I have been trying to tether wifi on my mac but it never works. I'm wondering if mac just does not work with wifi tether from android or do I need to config to a certain setting?
  2. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
  3. ashkev843
    Offline

    ashkev843 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Works great on mine using the one from the link. Shows up under devices listed below all the other wireless access points. The stock name shows as AndroidTether.
  4. kzmania
    Offline

    kzmania New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks JhankG for the link. I got it to work now. It doesn't work whenever I turn the access control on though :S Does yours work?
  5. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I use a Mac Book Pro and like others, at times, I need to turn on the access control. You might want to try an app called Barnacle and see if you have better success.

    Mike
  6. ATL_DROID
    Offline

    ATL_DROID New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tethering is working for me and my Mac!

    I was able to get tethering to work from my DROID on my iMac and iPad. I have been trying to use Barnacle Wifi Tether but have had no luck. Seems there are many others having this issue as well. I'm currently rooted and running CyanogenMod Blue, Froyo. Apparently there are some issues (not compatible yet? correct kernel?) with Barnacle and 2.2. It was then I gave Wireless Tether a shot. After downloading and installing it, I changed a few basic setting under menu > setup. I enabled wifi-encryption and left the set-up method as Auto. I left the SSID name as the default (you can change this I'm sure, I just left it as the default for a trial run) and changed my password. I then started wifi tether and gave it a few seconds for my phone to show up in my networks, selected it, entered the password and connected without any issues at all. Once I was connected, in the Wireless Tether app, I went to went to menu > Access Control and toggled Enable on and then off. I was off and running! Same goes for the ipad. I had both the iMac and iPad connected at the same time and running with no issues at all.
  7. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Cyanogen Mod doesn't have a ROM based on 2.2 yet.
  8. ATL_DROID
    Offline

    ATL_DROID New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DOH! Sorry about that. You are most definitely correct. I messed around Cyanogen Mod right after I rooted but am now running JRummy Froyo Kangerade V1.1. Thanks for the correction!
  9. bross2
    Offline

    bross2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That was a winner... I had been trying o figure out why this wasn't working... and of course kept turning on the "Access Control." Anywho, thanks... Now to set up the WEP Encryption... hope that works.
  10. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Glad it worked for you.
    Mike
  11. mabfire
    Offline

    mabfire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hello re mac tethering

    Hi was researching tethering and thought I had it all set up. Alas, did not work. Is the only way to get it to work with macbook by getting root access? That sounds a little daunting for a non programmer. Any good layman - woman guides or links?

    Help much.appreciated in advance.

    - mab
  12. mabfire
    Offline

    mabfire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hello re mac tethering

    Hi was researching tethering and thought I had it all set up. Alas, did not work. Is the only way to get it to work with macbook by getting root access? That sounds a little daunting for a non programmer. Any good layman - woman guides or links?

    Help much.appreciated in advance.

    - mab
  13. redman333
    Offline

    redman333 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I'm confused. I was trying to use barnacle tether and it wasn't working then I saw this thread and tried wireless tether and it worked, or so I thought. I saw the phone and it said it connected to my iPad and I thought it worked. Until I tried to use the Internet. My iPad said it had no Internet access. Can someone help me out here.
  14. mabfire
    Offline

    mabfire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After posting above, I did more research and used PDANET-- it worked great, but not sure it will work with i pad. I'm now typing this post from my laptop and not my phone as per before.
  15. redman333
    Offline

    redman333 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pdanet worked for wireless tethering. I have that app but iv had it for awhile and used it for USB tethering but not wireless.
  16. gavron
    Online

    gavron Guest

    pdanet has nothing to do with this thread.

    pdanet is not wifi tether nor does it work over wifi.

    pdanet requires that you use windows or macos and pay money.

    WiFI tether is free.
    WiFi tether doesn't care what you run on your laptop.

    WiFi tether creates an ad-hoc access point from your droid for free.

    WiFi tether works.

    E
  17. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I'm rooted and use the Android wireless tether app on a regular basis to connect to my Mac Book Pro. I've not used PDAnet since rooting (mid January). At that time, I was able to use PDAnet with my Mac Book Pro. I never incurred any charges. Here is the link PdaNet -- USB Tether/Bluetooth DUN for Android I still had that explained the process. I did not look for a more recent link so the current process may have changed and fees may have been added.

    OP indicated success with PADnet. Were you notified that you would incur charges? Easy Tether is another app that can tether non rooted devices.



    Hope this information is helpful

    Mike
  18. gavron
    Online

    gavron Guest

    PDAnet is USB only, and it (like WiFi-tether) is free... as it uses the same IP address as the Droid.

    VZW's tether is not free...

    root+WiFi tether = wireless tether for no extra dollars...

    E
  19. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I agree PDAnet is USB only. I was confused by " pdanet requires that you use windows (worked on my Mac) or macos and pay money." in your previous post.

    Not sure what VZW's tether is or why it would be needed.

    Agree "root+WiFi tether = wireless tether for no extra dollars..." I use it almost daily and have not incurred any additional fees.

    Mike
  20. redman333
    Offline

    redman333 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What rom are you guys using. I just rooted through easy root and I don't think I have the correct rom for wireless tethering. Also how do I go about uploading a new rom?
Search tags for this page
android wifi tether mac
,
barnacle wifi imac
,

barnacle wifi tether mac

,
barnacle wifi tether on mac
,
hot to connect macbook to wifi tether android
,
how to set up mac for wifi tether with android
,
how to tether android to mac wirelessly
,
how to tether wifi from android to mac
,
how to tether wifi with mac
,
mac wifi tether download
,
wifi tether not showing up on mac