Wifi Tether (free)

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by raw33, Sep 2, 2010.

  1. raw33

    raw33 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So now that I have my Droid 2 rooteddancedroid, could someone explain (like you would to a 2 year old) how to get free wifi tether onto my phone? Thanks
     
  2. KCR

    KCR New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Download from the app store wireless tether.
     
  3. MechaDoozer

    MechaDoozer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been using "Barnacle wifi tether", free from the market
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    That is a good app. The Android tether works well also.

    Have you successfully tethered your phone to your computer?
     
  5. karnovaran

    karnovaran Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've used both Barnacle and Wireless Tether for Root Users. They both work, but I found the latter to be a bit more reliable.
     
  6. pjo1966

    pjo1966 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've tried Wireless Tether and can't get my Mac to connect.
     
  7. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I have a Mac Book Pro and use Android Tether app to tether quite frequently. Here is a copy of the tutorial (Matth3W) I used for the settings:


    60. My settings for WiFi tether are...uncheck use Bluetooth, check Enable WiFi Encryption, set up a passphrase (make sure it is 13 characters), change the SSID or leave it default (I left it default), Change channel to 07, power mode active, enable access control unchecked (my preference), change LAN first option, everything else left it the way it was.

    The only caveat, when I try to establish the connection, I need to turn on the access control then once connected, I turn it off.


    Hope this is helpful.

    Mike
     
  8. pjo1966

    pjo1966 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Ratings:
    +0
    before i saw this post, I tried Barnacle. It works perfectly. I'll give WiFi Tether a try with these settings. Thanks.
     
  9. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Let us know if you are successful.

    Mike
     
  10. pjo1966

    pjo1966 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Ratings:
    +0
    Those Wireless Tether settings did not work for me. Barnacle works, so i'll stick with that.
     
  11. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Sorry! It is good, however, that Barnacle works.

    Mike
     
  12. pjo1966

    pjo1966 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes it is. And the speeds are better than what I had with AT&T DSL before switching to Time Warner.

    I'm sitting an open house now, and can browse using my laptop instead of the Droid. Living in the future is cool! ;)
     
  13. ckaram

    ckaram New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, major noob here. Motorola droid not rooted, running Verizon and 2.2.

    I have pdaNet installed and have tethered by USB for sometime now. My laptop does not have bluetooth, so I haven't tried this. I've read that in order to create a hotspot and tether wirelessly, you have to be rooted. Is this true? Pardon my ignorance...
     
  14. daneldanny

    daneldanny New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Middletown, CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    psp tether

    has anyone figured out a way to tether to a psp?
     
  15. TG617

    TG617 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wireless Tether was super simple on Win 7...
     
Search tags for this page

droid wifi tether free

,

free wifi tether for motorola droid

,
how can i tether my at&t galaxy s4 for free
,
latter wifi tether