Wifi Tether confirmed by me

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus Development' started by gmmurphy, Dec 18, 2011.

  1. gmmurphy
    Offline

    gmmurphy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    woods of ct and ma
    The guys at wifi-tether release a pre. it works fine on my xoom! bam take that VZ! I suggest donations to these guys, less than two days!
  2. alucard9114
    Offline

    alucard9114 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San diego Cali baby
    :p:icon_ banana: this and google wallet yea!
  3. haijak
    Offline

    haijak New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. mwahlquist
    Offline

    mwahlquist New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    me as well. tethered the wife's old deactivated iPhone over an encrypted link. Fantastic.
  5. nuclearbier
    Offline

    nuclearbier New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dayton, Ohio
    No go for me

    I have tried no encryption and have no luck. :(
  6. mwahlquist
    Offline

    mwahlquist New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
  7. gtofan350
    Offline

    gtofan350 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't the tether work in the GN fo free?
  8. the5
    Offline

    the5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can VZW still track you?
  9. mwahlquist
    Offline

    mwahlquist New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    The forum consensus is that built in reports to VZW but app does not. No proof though. I used the app all the time on OG Droid with no issues.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
  10. goosedeath
    Offline

    goosedeath New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PHX, AZ
    I posted my results in another thread as well, no luck on the encryption connection. I did set it to Galaxy LTE. But then again, I am kinda sick, so maybe I'm not quite w/ it.
  11. mwahlquist
    Offline

    mwahlquist New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Also... I can't tether an Android from it... only computers and idevices... thought that was a known issue... but others report they can.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus
  12. dbol
    Offline

    dbol New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Root required?
  13. 1quickv6
    Offline

    1quickv6 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes it is
  14. jcardona1
    Offline

    jcardona1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    Awesome, works for me! Tried it with my OG Droid and it worked perfect. Now I'll need to test it out and my laptop and tablet.
  15. mwahlquist
    Offline

    mwahlquist New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    If anyone is concerned with legal issues here... Apparently a formal complaint has already been filed with the FCC over Verizon "illegal" restriction of use on 4G networks. When Verizon (and others) bought rights to claim the spectrum it came with limitations. One of those was a restriction to not impose limits on devices and applications that use the data on the user end. Read more here...

    Free Press complaint to FCC--Verizon and C Block
  16. gmmurphy
    Offline

    gmmurphy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    woods of ct and ma
    android devices cant see ad-hoc signal by default. what android device you using with the gnex? there is a flashabe zip for just about every device. im tetherd to my xoom now. most developers bake the functionality into ther roms.
  17. captdroid
    Offline

    captdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is the Wireless tether app running ad-hoc or infrastructure? On the D1 it ran ad-hoc but on the GN it may be infrastructure. Haven't bothered to check yet myself. My laptop will do either.
  18. maddog0331
    Offline

    maddog0331 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Some where in FL/NY
    I was running it today for a while and I experience a total phone freeze..........A battery pull was required and afterwards it was all good.......:icon_ devil:
  19. mwahlquist
    Offline

    mwahlquist New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Hmmmmm, I am able to tether gnex to stock og droid, but not to my rom'ed og droid... must be something corrupted on it. It would attempt to connect but then drop after authentication.

    Also, there is a setting on the wireless tether app for auto, master, or ad hoc... I assume this is the question everyone is asking about. Seems we have a choice... or is this something else?

    I was able to tether the stock droid using the master setting.
  20. captdroid
    Offline

    captdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That would be infrastructure (master setting in wireless tether app on the Galaxy Nexus)! The D1 would only offer up ad-hoc mode using wireless tether app (or any app for that matter, limitation with the hardware and wireless driver). Infrastructure mode can be used as a wireless source for any wireless device.
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2011
Search tags for this page
barnacle wifi teher for galaxy 3
,

barnacle wifi tether apk

,
barnacle wifi tether galaxy s3
,
barnical .apk
,
galaxy siii barnacle wifi
,
older barnacle wifi apk
,
wifi tether apk galaxy s3