Wifi Tether Broken in v0.1

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by dweary, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. dweary

    dweary New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wifi tethering may work for a minute, but that's rare. Usually I can't even connect. Bluetooth and USB tethering work fine.

    I've followed the other threads and installed the wifi tether app - in fact, I've tried all the different contradictory versions of it that were said to work (pre14, 2.0.2 final, and 2.0.5.pre2). None do.

    I've tried with and without encryption. It seems to make no difference.

    I've tried a different kernel someone said would work (p3's latest froyo). It didn't. In fact, the debug log suggests that kernel has a larger problem than whatever's ailing the stock kernel (saying the interface doesn't support it - of course quietly in a debug message, no error in the UI).

    I would love to hear from anyone who has wifi tether working with bugless beast v0.1 froyo - how did you do it?
     
  2. Character Zero

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try a different channel, it usually won't work for me unless I am on Channel 7 or higher.
     
  3. jasondeg

    jasondeg Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine works but only with my PC laptop and not with my Mac... have no idea why!
     
  4. groovydeus

    groovydeus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    39.8° N 84.2° W
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not much help here - but working on both my Win 7 and Snow Leopard laptops. Just worked.
     
  5. lee__D

    lee__D Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine wouldnt work, but now i set it to channel 14 and im posting this
     
  6. mr.droid87

    mr.droid87 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do I change the channel my Droid says it can't find data/data android something any clue what to do?
     
  7. lee__D

    lee__D Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i use the "wireless tether" app, it is in the settings of that app.
     
  8. mr.droid87

    mr.droid87 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My wifi tether still isn't working it worked yesterday and even early this morning but now it won't connect any ideas on a fix?
     
  9. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    It has nothing to do with this ROM. Wifi tethering works fine for me with multiple Mac laptops as well as my Xbox 360.
     
  10. GrillMouster

    GrillMouster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wifi tether works for me on Froyo, but not with access control enabled.
     
  11. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Are ya'll using the latest version of WiFi Tethering for Root Users? If not go here and download : [FONT=&quot]http://code.google.com/p/android-wifi-tether/downloads/list[/FONT]


    I'm using the file labeled 2.05-pre1 and it works fine. I installed it with Astro and since I already had Pre10 (or maybe it was pre14?) on my phone Astro gave me an option to upgrade. I checked that and it install right over the top of the old tethering app. I changed no settings, just opened the app and touched the "Press to Start Tethering" icon.


    Good luck.


    [FONT=&quot][/FONT][FONT=&quot][/FONT]
     
  12. MAD450r

    MAD450r Theme Developer
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +1
    try to find

    2.0.1 wifi tether I think it is.
    im looking for it now too since i put BBv0.1 back on my phone today also want to try it on my DI. 2.0.2 that came on the DI root method is unstable for me.