WiFi Scan, router not found

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by coggs, Jan 11, 2010.

  1. coggs

    coggs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a home Wi-Fi setup using a Linksys WRT160N V2 router. No issues at all with my 3 laptops and wireless printer - yet neither of my Droid Eris phones detect the Wi-Fi even with a scan request. It's not the commonly reported problem of detecting but subsequently dropping the link. It never finds it! I do pick up several near open W-Fi networks, just not my own. I've tried to manually set it up by entering the Network SSID, security type (WPA2 Personal), and password all to no avail. I am set up with AES encryption. I have done searches here but hard to match up similar issues with various solutions. Thanks in advance.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2010
  2. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Have you tried the app WiFi Analyzer from the Market..
     
  3. coggs

    coggs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My neighbors open Wi-Fi shows up on the Wi-Fi analyzer - but not mine! I've cold botted the router several times - for what that's worth.
     
  4. pyrofreak

    pyrofreak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northeast TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having the same issue with my linksys router I have many of my neighbors routers show up and they are all password protected but mines not and it will not show up in the scan I've used wifinder and wifi buddy and the wifi scan on the phone. I've restarted the modem and the router twice and still nothing I can connect to the open netgear router at work but my linksys will not show up. Any ideas or solutions?
     
  5. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    Which type of routers do you have do you have wireless g or n? I've had mine set to N only and it still saw it, but i've also been around a few N only set routers and they don't show up. Also what type of security are you running on your routers if any?
     
  6. pyrofreak

    pyrofreak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northeast TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a linksys wrt54gs with no security running. I think its set to g but I'm really not sure it used to connect untill a copule of days ago then it just stopped showing up.
     
  7. coggs

    coggs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I belive mine is bradcasting in N. It has never been seen by the droid.
     
  8. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6

    Droid does not use "N"
     
  9. RW-1

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Seconded, no N support. Log onto your routers and ensure you have it st to mixed (linksys), or whatever setting gets you G and N, then reset both router and restart your Droid.
     
  10. pyrofreak

    pyrofreak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northeast TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm ill try it when I get home from work and let you know if that fixes it.
     
  11. pyrofreak

    pyrofreak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northeast TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i checked my router and it has the options of mixed B-only or G-only theres no N on my router. should i set it to G-only or what?



    ::EDIT:: I put my router on G-only and I restarted the modem and the router both along with my phone and it still won't show the freaking connection on my phone. Im about to get pissed off at this whole mess. I was connected to wifi all day at work and its a netgear router. I just don't understand.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2010
  12. mrapollinax

    mrapollinax Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Silly question but... Is your router broadcasting your SSID?
     
  13. pyrofreak

    pyrofreak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northeast TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    No its nor
     
  14. mrapollinax

    mrapollinax Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    For any device to find your Wireless network it needs to first broadcast it's SSID. Either that or you manually have to add the network to your device. Try adding your home network manually and try connecting or configure your router to broadcast your SSID.
     
  15. huskur

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
    I am sure you are only broadcasting in "n". You need to set your router to run a mixed environment. It's simple.....it's in the router webpage.
     
Search tags for this page
android does not see wifi router scanning
,

android not detecting wifi

,
android not scanning wireless router
,
android wlan not found
,
htc wifi not detecting routers
,
scan wifi not found
,
scanrouter android
,
wifi not found android
,
wifi router not detected
,
wifi router not found