Wifi randomly drops at home

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by skyman.2112, Jul 3, 2013.

  1. skyman.2112

    skyman.2112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    This is a common issue in forums i read, so far nobody has a fix. Just wondering if anyone else heard anything. Randomly drops the wifi signal even when your only 10 feet away. Its only a year old modem, Linksys E1200. Every other device has a strong continous signal. Also, it will reboot from time to time also cant figure that one out either. On my second phone already, only loaded the basic apps. Help!!!:icon_eek:
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    1,442
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,681
    This sounds like a classic issue with the router, not the phone. Never assume that because other devices work fine that an Android phone or tablet will as well. Most of those devices use different chips to drive the WiFi that react differently to the various chipsets used in the routers. (the way to prove this is to go to a public hotspot to see if the same thing happens).

    There are usually solutions, changing the security if it's WEP to WPA and/or changing channel or simply restarting the router frequently solve the problem. I have a link in my signature with additional possibilities.
     
  3. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6,660
    Likes Received:
    2,948
    Trophy Points:
    518
    Ratings:
    +3,366
    What I found on my Linksys router to keep it playing nice with my Android devices is to reboot it about once every other week.
    On my Belkin I have to reboot it every few days.
    Both play very nice with the Windows and ios machines without reboots but Android is a different story.
    There's probably a tweak or update I could do to the router but a reboot works just fine and I don't have to worry about messing up my network by being upgrade illiterate.

    Support Our Troops!!!
    <><
    A Rezound phone was used for this Tapatalk post
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. FoxKat

    FoxKat Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,004
    Likes Received:
    4,277
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +4,758
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Also often overlooked, especially with new routers, but almost always the case with older ones...upgrade the firmware. Even right off the shelf, routers can have one or more firmware updates on the corporate website and quite often they are to address known problems such as you describe. Go to the manufacturer's site, look for "support" or "upgrades" or "firmware", and then search for your particular router model. Don't forget to amke sure the "Version" of the router matches the firmware as often there are several versions of the same model - each with different chip-sets and requiring completely different firmware. If you flash the wrong firmware to a router, you can turn it into a paperweight.
     
  5. wcjeep

    wcjeep Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +55
    Does the phone have Wifi only issues with "N"? How does it react with "G"? I ran hard lines to other parts of my house for the "G" routers I bought at Target for $20 each. I have the same internet speeds as the "N". "G" plays nice with current and older devices. The newer devices in the house connect to the "N" next to the modem.
     
  6. skyman.2112

    skyman.2112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I tried unplugging it at first, but it didnt help. Its already set to WPA2 and i looked through the routers admin page and didnt see any way to change the channel. I upgraded the firmware and will see what that does. My other androide phone, galaxy s1, didnt have this problem either. Keep you posted, thanks!
     
  7. YellowJacket

    YellowJacket Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Ratings:
    +35
    skyman,

    Does it drop ALL wifi connections or just the one at home? If so, then as the others stated, it is more than likely a problem with your router and not the phone.

    I have similar problems with mine at home but not at work and other areas with wifi. (most of them)

    If not already mentioned above, go into settings > wifi > then hit the bottom left MENU soft key > advanced > check the box for "avoid poor connections" (or uncheck it). See if that helps.

    You may also want to go into your router settings and change the channel if a lot of other networks around you are on the same channel. I use an app from Amped Wireless called Wifi Analytics to see which channels are free and set my router to them. That seems to help. Channel 1, 6, and 11 seem to be the most popular in my neighborhood so I picked one of the others that wasn't used.

    Also, if all your wireless equipment is "n", you can change your router to n only to get the maximum performance out of it. If you have mixed devices (G and n) the router has to compromise for both which IMHO degrades overall quality of signal.

    David
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. skyman.2112

    skyman.2112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Unchecking avoid poor connections helped some but it still dropped. Then i found a firmware update and now its fine. Would like to change the channel though and band setting to N but looked all over the settings page of the router and cant find it. Its a linksys so i will have to spend more time looking. Thanks for the help !!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. FoneHome

    FoneHome Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +1
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S4
    I have the same problem. But unless I'm next to the router it keeps going in and out. My room is like three rooms away from the router. So, I'm guessing in my case there is a distance problem. But that shouldn't make a difference since I'm in the same house. Who knows. Right now I have all the bars filled. However when I go to my room, there is one to two bars max and it goes out at times. Very annoying...

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Droid Forums
     
  10. bweN diorD

    bweN diorD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +74
    Current Phone Model:
    G2
    thats a pretty weak signal imo
    i have a router that i never use, but i thought there was a way or setting to turn up the output.
    maybe yours has that
     
  11. leeshor

    leeshor Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    1,442
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,681
    Check my WiFi link below for some suggestions. Something as simple as changing the channel could do the trick, possibly a change in the type of security. There are some tools listed that will help diagnose the problem.
     
  12. skyman.2112

    skyman.2112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1

    I got my third razr maxx HD from verizon, the wifi issue is gone. Same apps and everything as my old phone. Just a bad batch of chipsets i would assume. Have you noticed you never see any fixes for any issues here? Just reset the phone or blame it on 3rd party apps LOL.:p
     
Search tags for this page
droid razer max wifi drop fix
,

htc rezound suddenly dropping wifi

,
lg g2 constantly losing wifi
,

lg g2 wifi weak signal

,
lg optimus g shuts off wifi
,
lg optimus wifi weak signal
,
random wifi drops on android
,

why is bionic losing wifi

,
wifi drops lg g2
,

wifi keeps disconnecting lg35g