WiFi question

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by jigsawkilr, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. jigsawkilr
    Offline

    jigsawkilr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    At work I have WiFi. I have the security code to get access to it. When I try to connect to the network with my Droid it shows the Network,tries to connect, but then disconnects. When I click on the network below it says remembered but when I click on it it gives me the option to connect,forget or cancel. If I click connect it says disconnected. I have never had to enter a password. What do I need to do? Thanks in advance.:icon_eek:
  2. JayMonster
    Offline

    JayMonster New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you look at the icon for the network, does it show a lock on the icon (Secured network)?

    If it is secured (as it theoretically should be) Is the network WEP? WPA? WPA2?
  3. jigsawkilr
    Offline

    jigsawkilr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That I tried to mention. There isn't a lock icon on the network however I know it is secured. I'm lost as well. At home mine is secured and when it was found I had to enter my password and it connected so I figured work would be the same way. Hope that helps. Still thankful to anyone who can help me.
  4. Caindris
    Offline

    Caindris New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What kind of network do you have? We have a Cisco wireless manager that lets me manage all the devices that connect and I can lock them out based on MAC address and some other neat little tools.

    It could also be the encryption. A quick google search seems to point that the droid doesn't seem to like WPA2, but I don't know enough to give full support.
  5. jigsawkilr
    Offline

    jigsawkilr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for everyones help. It has me confused as well. I wonder if I can delete it from my droid and try finding it again? Or should I try reseting the router?
  6. Loyrl
    Offline

    Loyrl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South of Seattle
    You can remove it from your phone and try again, also if you are not broadcasting your ssid you won't be able to connect to the network.