1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

WiFi question

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by jigsawkilr, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. jigsawkilr
    Offline

    jigsawkilr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    At work I have WiFi. I have the security code to get access to it. When I try to connect to the network with my Droid it shows the Network,tries to connect, but then disconnects. When I click on the network below it says remembered but when I click on it it gives me the option to connect,forget or cancel. If I click connect it says disconnected. I have never had to enter a password. What do I need to do? Thanks in advance.:icon_eek:
  2. JayMonster
    Offline

    JayMonster New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you look at the icon for the network, does it show a lock on the icon (Secured network)?

    If it is secured (as it theoretically should be) Is the network WEP? WPA? WPA2?
  3. jigsawkilr
    Offline

    jigsawkilr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That I tried to mention. There isn't a lock icon on the network however I know it is secured. I'm lost as well. At home mine is secured and when it was found I had to enter my password and it connected so I figured work would be the same way. Hope that helps. Still thankful to anyone who can help me.
  4. Caindris
    Offline

    Caindris New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What kind of network do you have? We have a Cisco wireless manager that lets me manage all the devices that connect and I can lock them out based on MAC address and some other neat little tools.

    It could also be the encryption. A quick google search seems to point that the droid doesn't seem to like WPA2, but I don't know enough to give full support.
  5. jigsawkilr
    Offline

    jigsawkilr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for everyones help. It has me confused as well. I wonder if I can delete it from my droid and try finding it again? Or should I try reseting the router?
  6. Loyrl
    Offline

    Loyrl Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South of Seattle
    You can remove it from your phone and try again, also if you are not broadcasting your ssid you won't be able to connect to the network.