WiFi question

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible 2' started by Conz, Sep 30, 2011.

  1. Conz

    Conz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    Shouldn't it be faster than 3g when I'm home and within range of my modem/router, or am I way off here? I literally can't even get on the internet with WiFi. Is it bc my modem is old and sucks or am I doing something wrong?

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
     
  2. AirForceAngler

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It could be a little of both. How old is your wifi router? How fast is your home internet? Lots of variables.

    From my Inc 2.
     
  3. sjpritch25

    sjpritch25 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    I stick with wifi at home & elsewhere when its encrypted. Plus it doesn't count towards your data.

    Sent from my Incredible 2 using DroidForums
     
  4. Q48VW

    Q48VW New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was grand-fathered into verizon's unlimited data plan. Your router speed and reliability all depends on your internet provider and other variables.
     
  5. Conz

    Conz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    i have comcast. im on a different floor from my modem, and my router is at least 5 years old... i know it sucks, but i dont think it sucks to the point that i cant even open the browser using wifi.
     
  6. Rhayader

    Rhayader Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try using a laptop or another phone on your wifi network from the same location. Also, try you phone on wifi within just a few feet of the router.

    That should tell you whether your problem is with your phone, with your network, or if you're simply too far from your router.

    Sent from the Planet Express ship using the Fing-Longer.
     
  7. Lenagainster

    Lenagainster Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD
    Ratings:
    +1
    There's an app called WiFiAnalyzer that could help you see your WiFi signal in various parts of the house and how the strength varies near and far away from the router.
     
  8. Conz

    Conz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    was just at my buddy's house and used wifi. its definitely my router. it's always been terrible, and i guess the phone doesn't even sync up with it at all.
     
  9. Nyteravyn

    Nyteravyn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MidWest
    Ratings:
    +4
    Id like to say this author seeming the arse but... Could your router have been set to Mac id security....? And you are not on the list? Do you have anything else wifi that does work on it?
    I say this from experience as I'm having to constantly add Mac id's to mine and I've had a router lose just the wifi radio and still work hard lined...

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  10. Conz

    Conz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    I downloaded the WiFi analyzer and its at -80. Does that suck? I can actually access the net w. WiFi right now, I shut my desktop down, that's probably why.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
     
  11. Lenagainster

    Lenagainster Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD
    Ratings:
    +1
    Based on my experience with my Xoom tablet, with the signal between -90 and -80, it sometimes can't lock on. Sometimes one bar shows, other times, none. If the signal stays about -80, I'll get one bar and the connection is fairly consistent. My router is in one corner of the basement and the Xoom is on the second floor, in the opposite corner of the house. I bought a cheap ($2) booster antenna on Amazon, and if I tilted the angle somewhat, it helped. Then I bought another antenna with a 6' cable and was able to locate the antenna on the first floor above the ductwork. That was just enough to make the signal consistently strong enough to avoid dropouts.
     
  12. Conz

    Conz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    hm, i need to investigate this further, b/c now my internet connection on my desktop sucks after boot up. it just never works out with this router. meanwhile when comcast comes they say my house has top notch speeds. i dont get it.