Wifi problems

roberj13

Reaction score
First I want to say I just got my Droid, after watching this forum for a few weeks while I was deciding. I am so glad I did so far! This phone is great and I am sure I am just beginning to unlock its potential. This site has been a great help since there are 2 people at work that have this phone and they are amazed that I know so much about the phone on my second day.

I do have one problem so far. My Droid says it is connected to my wifi network, but nothing that uses the internet will work. Browser, facebook, market, etc. I will get calls, texts, and gmail notifications however. It is WEP encrypted and I've tried "unremembering" the wifi network and then typing in the password again about 3 times now. The phone also says that the connection strength is excellent and I show all bars.

I have only downloaded a few apps so far and don't think they would be the reason for the internet working as far as I can tell.

I have installed, a better keyboard, swype, handcent, slacker, pandora, .

Thanks in advance everyone.

mjs31

Reaction score
So your wifi is setup. When you go into wifi settings, what does it show under the wifi networks? Is yours listed? If so, does it say connected under your router? For example...when I am connected to my Dlink wireless (which is also WEP encrypted) it says "Dlink" and then underneath that it says "connected"

OP
roberj13

roberj13

Reaction score
Yes, when I go to settings/wifi settings/"mynetwork"/ it says connected. I click on that and it says, WEP, 54Mbps, Excellent and an IP address.

But for example if I then go to Android Market it will sit there for about 2 minutes and then say unable to connect to server. Same with the browser.

Turn of wifi, and life resumes as normal.

I haven't been able to try any other networks to be sure if it is just my network my phone doesn't like or any network.

mjs31

Reaction score