wifi notifications won't turn off

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid MAXX' started by drtnsnw, Jun 26, 2016.

  1. drtnsnw

    drtnsnw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    On my Maxx every time I open an app I get a popup about wifi. Is there some way to shut it off?? I have all the boxes unchecked in the advanced settings. Verizon swears there is a box to check called notify me but I don't have it

    Any ideas??

    Chris
     
  2. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    7,217
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,731
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    It's been a while since I owned a Droid Maxx, but I thought it was in Advanced WiFi Settings also? Do you not see a check box or On/Off slider for WiFi Notification (Notify My When Wi-Fi Is Available)?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. drtnsnw

    drtnsnw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    nope, no box. has

    network notifications/unchecked

    wifi notifications/unchecked

    scanning always available/unchecked

    avoid poor connections/unchecked

    and then other stuff

    Chris
     
  4. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    7,217
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,731
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    I thought it had an "When Opening Apps Tell Me..." option, but could be wrong. It's been over a year since I sold my Maxx. Have you installed any new apps lately? Any WiFi scanning type apps, or anything that may have a WiFi type option in the app?
     
  5. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,624
    Likes Received:
    5,114
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6,072
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P/5X
    What os version are you on?

    I see this.

    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. drtnsnw

    drtnsnw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    I am on my 3rd phone in 2 weeks. Replaced my first one because of this. First replacement crashed 5 times a day. second one doesn't have that check box I need.

    I have not installed any strange apps ever. All from the playstore.

    I am running 4.4.4
     
  7. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,624
    Likes Received:
    5,114
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6,072
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P/5X
    Just because it's in the play store doesn't mean it's safe. I'd do a clean factory data reset and install one at a time to see which one is the problem.

    Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    7,217
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,731
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    If this is happening on multiple phones, and causing phones to crash, Mustang has a good point. That would point to the same app on each phone as the culprit.

    As an example, about 2 years ago my wife installed what she thought was the official USPS app for stamps. It completely overtook the WiFi Settings options and they were all locked out and unavailable. Apps can do strange things sometimes

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,678
    Likes Received:
    3,546
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,034
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    Take @Mustang02 advice.. It's the only way to single out the culprit...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. drtnsnw

    drtnsnw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    si I finally did a hard reboot and didn't reload a single app. That notify me button is not there with a full clean install. Is that odd or what. Sorry it has taken me so long

    Chris