Wifi needed to download on market??

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by eap369, Nov 2, 2011.

  1. eap369
    Offline

    eap369 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    southern cali
    Is anyone getting a message saying u need Wifi to download apps because of the size?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  2. Crazed_Z06
    Offline

    Crazed_Z06 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    On the Amazon App Store or the real Market? Amazon App Store requires wifi for big stuff. It's lame because 4G is just as fast as broadband connection.
  3. eap369
    Offline

    eap369 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    southern cali
    The real market but now im seeing that its asking for Wifi even if im not on market .. do u know What can be causing this? Mayne a setting I messed up on?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  4. saltrock
    Offline

    saltrock New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Settings, battery and data manager, turn data saver off

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  5. eap369
    Offline

    eap369 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    southern cali
    Thanks that did the job

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  6. klowe25
    Offline

    klowe25 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks! I spent two hours on phone support with Verizon tonight and they couldn't help me at all. They messed up something else that I can't figure out how to fix, but your post sure helped me with the original problem.
  7. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    It's nice to have support here. I had a network problem on my OG Droid and someone asked if I had installed the SwitchPro widget. As I had he told me to uncheck something. Who knew.

    I remember going to Verizon with my OG Droid because the compass on several apps were off 90 degrees (if the phone was facing North it said I was facing East). I did a battery pull, power down and all that. The tech said I had too many apps running at the same time (they were looking at my app list, not the running apps) and did a factory reset. It helped, but mainly because I probably didn't reinstall the app that was causing the problem.
  8. 41canine
    Offline

    41canine New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Genius

    Saltrock,
    Thank you for your advise re: turning off Data Saver. I too, spent hour with tech Support and they finally ate sending me a replacement Bionic for the message "Download needs Wi fi". I saw your answer, turned off Data Saver and cancelled the reman replacement. Amazing tech support couldn't figure it out.
    Thanks again.
  9. saltrock
    Offline

    saltrock New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't give me to much credit. I had the same problem and found the fix on another post. I'm glad I could help. That's what this forum is all about

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  10. Yescobosa
    Offline

    Yescobosa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you!


    I spent an hour and a half on the phone with verizon and they could not figure out why my phone was looking for wifi to download apps when everything was turned off. They actually said they can't help me and that I would have to just have to download or update my apps when I had access to wifi or do a factory reset which I didn't want to do. I found your answer here and it worked!!!!! Must thanks!!!
Search tags for this page
android ask for wifi to download
,
android trying to download app asking for wifi connection
,
app store requesting wifi to download
,
droid 4 saying all downloads need wifi
,
my droid 2 say i need wifi to download apps?
,

need wifi to download apps

,
phone says need wi fi to download why
,
whu do inmeed wifo to download apps
,

why do i need wifi to download apps

,
why does my droid bionic say network required for downloadin
,

why does my droidx need wifi to download apps

,
wifi required for downloads from android market