1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

WiFi Issues

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by droid.i.am, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. droid.i.am
    Offline

    droid.i.am New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Droid experts,
    I hope that I'm posting in the correct forum...

    My WiFi works for a short time then it keeps giving me a "network error" message whenever I try to go to the internet. Since my Droid thinks that it's still connected to my wireless router correctly, it doesn't automatically revert to 3G when this happens. If I manually turn WiFi off, 3G works fine; then if I manually turn WiFi back on, it works for only a short time again.

    I think that it's related to my recent install of Froyo since my wife's Droid stock 2.1 works fine on our WiFi so I don't think it's my router.

    I've searched the forums but I haven't found a solution that works yet. I've tried 10 different medium/low/ultralow kernels from P3/Chevy/etc. and they exhibited the same symptoms.

    Here is my phone info:
    build # = voles-user 2.2 FRF84B 42477 release-keys
    baseband version = C_01.43.01P
    kernel version = 2.6.32.9-P3Droids

    If anyone had a similar issue & figured out to fix it, I'd really appreciate any input. Thanks.

    -Rob
  2. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try a different rom.
  3. robbo323
    Offline

    robbo323 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Its a glitch in Froyo ROMS for some people. For me its every Froyo ROM. Tried them all, same problem you are having. Tried different kernals & wifi settings too, no luck. Closest I've come to success is using Chevy SS4.2 and re-setting my router. Works for about a week, then I have to re-set again. Weird. If you search, there's threads on here with suggested fixes, though none worked for me. Good luck.
  4. droid.i.am
    Offline

    droid.i.am New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Update:

    Today, I tried 1 fix suggested by dasak & benb1974 in another thread/forum, and WiFi is finally stable for me - hallelujah & thanks guys! What I did was change my router's wireless settings from Auto-WPA/WPA2 (TKIP/AES encryption) to WPA-only (TKIP encryption). dancedroid

    Here is my current phone/router info:
    build # = FRG01B
    baseband version = C_01.43.01P
    kernel version = 2.6.32.9-P3Droids
    router = DLink DIR-655

    I hope that this information will be helpful for some of you with similar WiFi issues. Good luck!

    -Rob
Search tags for this page

motorola atrix wifi error fix

,

when i am not home motorola atrix gives a network error. wil