WiFi issue

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by JackButler, Nov 29, 2009.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. JackButler
    Offline

    JackButler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't seem to access our home wireless network. We just have a basic internet service with linksys router, we use our laptops on it.
    My phone found it, I put in our password, it tries to obtain it but it keep socming up unsuccessful on my Eris.
    Can anyone help me further to troubleshoot this?
    Thanks
  2. RichStevenson
    Offline

    RichStevenson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Medina, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Reboot the Linksys, wait a few minutes for it to come up, and try again. Sounds like it's connected but isn't receiving an IP address from the routers DHCP server.
  3. JackButler
    Offline

    JackButler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will try, thanks!
  4. jigsawkilr
    Offline

    jigsawkilr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am having a similar problem. Mine will say "not in range" my router is in the same room as me. Any suggestions?
  5. JackButler
    Offline

    JackButler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still, no luck.
    Any other ideas?
  6. Stigy
    Offline

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone else have a mobile device that is able to connect to the router?

    Like an iPhone, iPod Touch, etc...? Something that is not a computer?

    Really shouldn't make a difference, but would like to isolate the issue.
  7. bennyj
    Offline

    bennyj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orange County, Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have all my kids itouches connected as well as my wife and my droid. The only thing I can think of that may be a problem, is if you have mac address filtering on. If so you can either disable it or add the mac address of your droids to the list.
  8. drd1109
    Offline

    drd1109 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    had the same problem with my linksys...chaned the security to a wep and now everything works.
  9. misaac
    Offline

    misaac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Droid wouldn't connect with WEP, had to change my router to WPA2/PSK and works fine now.
  10. chilibilly22
    Offline

    chilibilly22 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    wifi woes

    My wifi works good then I may wake up and try using it and it wont do anything even when it shows good signal. I have settings to never turn off but it doesnt help. Also it does not always reconnect when I leave then come back to range. Its frustrating, anybody else have these issues or any suggestions?
  11. leonsb3
    Offline

    leonsb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +0
    this goes for me as well, i have a great connection to my router but no internet on the Droid. i cant seem to figure it out, it works great at the office too so its really maddening!
  12. Willyammer
    Offline

    Willyammer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not understanding this... My home network wifi connection was working great. Then, I went away for the holidays and come home to find that Wi-fi is "Disconnected", my network is "remembered, secured with WPA/WPA2". I click on notification and pop up shows network strength "Excellent" and gives me option to connect but when I do, nothing happens.

    I've rebooted the router, removed the Droid battery and still no luck. For a while there the "3G" icon was missing but reappeared after a second battery removal.

    Wee bit frustrated.
  13. lanolar
    Offline

    lanolar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wifi does not work at all on mine for any WPA/WPS2 network. Its been a huge frustrating joke "feature" on the phone so far. Its a HUGE issue that Motorola does not seem to be in rush to fix. Google "Droid wifi issues" and see how common the problem is for a nice kick in the pants.
  14. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Droid does not work at all on the MIT campus network. MIT calls it a "known issue with the droid". Not sure if Motorola / Google are working on it, or not.

    EDIT: MIT is an unencrypted network, but likely uses some atypical equipment.
  15. Erich_F
    Offline

    Erich_F Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Odessa, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine is on my house wifi just fine. I use 128 bit WEP. Make sure your setup is also using 128bit. It's a 16 character key, IIRC.
Similar Threads
  1. Hypnotic
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    2,047
  2. See
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    653
  3. brucin
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,132
  4. Ridgefire
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,173
  5. jbh
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    828
Loading...
Search tags for this page

128 bit wep hex android problem

,

htc rezound saya router not in range

,

rezound not in range