1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

WiFi issue

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by JackButler, Nov 29, 2009.

  1. JackButler
    Offline

    JackButler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't seem to access our home wireless network. We just have a basic internet service with linksys router, we use our laptops on it.
    My phone found it, I put in our password, it tries to obtain it but it keep socming up unsuccessful on my Eris.
    Can anyone help me further to troubleshoot this?
    Thanks
  2. RichStevenson
    Offline

    RichStevenson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medina, OH
    Reboot the Linksys, wait a few minutes for it to come up, and try again. Sounds like it's connected but isn't receiving an IP address from the routers DHCP server.
  3. JackButler
    Offline

    JackButler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will try, thanks!
  4. jigsawkilr
    Offline

    jigsawkilr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am having a similar problem. Mine will say "not in range" my router is in the same room as me. Any suggestions?
  5. JackButler
    Offline

    JackButler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still, no luck.
    Any other ideas?
  6. Stigy
    Offline

    Stigy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,083
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Does anyone else have a mobile device that is able to connect to the router?

    Like an iPhone, iPod Touch, etc...? Something that is not a computer?

    Really shouldn't make a difference, but would like to isolate the issue.
  7. bennyj
    Offline

    bennyj New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, Ca
    I have all my kids itouches connected as well as my wife and my droid. The only thing I can think of that may be a problem, is if you have mac address filtering on. If so you can either disable it or add the mac address of your droids to the list.
  8. drd1109
    Offline

    drd1109 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    had the same problem with my linksys...chaned the security to a wep and now everything works.
  9. misaac
    Offline

    misaac New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    My Droid wouldn't connect with WEP, had to change my router to WPA2/PSK and works fine now.
  10. chilibilly22
    Offline

    chilibilly22 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wifi woes

    My wifi works good then I may wake up and try using it and it wont do anything even when it shows good signal. I have settings to never turn off but it doesnt help. Also it does not always reconnect when I leave then come back to range. Its frustrating, anybody else have these issues or any suggestions?
  11. leonsb3
    Offline

    leonsb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    this goes for me as well, i have a great connection to my router but no internet on the Droid. i cant seem to figure it out, it works great at the office too so its really maddening!
  12. Willyammer
    Offline

    Willyammer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not understanding this... My home network wifi connection was working great. Then, I went away for the holidays and come home to find that Wi-fi is "Disconnected", my network is "remembered, secured with WPA/WPA2". I click on notification and pop up shows network strength "Excellent" and gives me option to connect but when I do, nothing happens.

    I've rebooted the router, removed the Droid battery and still no luck. For a while there the "3G" icon was missing but reappeared after a second battery removal.

    Wee bit frustrated.
  13. lanolar
    Offline

    lanolar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wifi does not work at all on mine for any WPA/WPS2 network. Its been a huge frustrating joke "feature" on the phone so far. Its a HUGE issue that Motorola does not seem to be in rush to fix. Google "Droid wifi issues" and see how common the problem is for a nice kick in the pants.
  14. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid does not work at all on the MIT campus network. MIT calls it a "known issue with the droid". Not sure if Motorola / Google are working on it, or not.

    EDIT: MIT is an unencrypted network, but likely uses some atypical equipment.
  15. Erich_F
    Offline

    Erich_F New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Odessa, FL
    Mine is on my house wifi just fine. I use 128 bit WEP. Make sure your setup is also using 128bit. It's a 16 character key, IIRC.
  16. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    128 bit WEP is 26 hex digits, (13 bytes).

    My droid works fine on my own WPA2 network (Linksys router running DD-WRT). Haven't tried it with WEP, but WEP is kind of old and unused now.
  17. Erich_F
    Offline

    Erich_F New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Odessa, FL
    yeah that makes more sense...I know I dread adding a device to my network cause the opportunity for a typo on that long-assed key is high :)
  18. boatman2220
    Offline

    boatman2220 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here's what I had to do one time to my nephew's Droid. It remembered the connection but would not connect. I removed the connection, rebooted the phone,let it find the wifi then made a new connection. It's been working fine since then. Always remembers and reconnects to it.
  19. droidoesall
    Offline

    droidoesall New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento
    I had a similar problem when connecting my droid to my router that was encrypted with wpa2. i didnt wana use wep cuz its not to secure and my neighbor who is a good friend of mine always hacks in to my stuff and messes around with me just for ****s and giggles. so i jst hide my ssid and have an open network. and now its been working for about a week now. no problems and my neighbor cant find it...yyyaaayyyyy. btw my ssid is "wehearyouf***ing" lol
  20. PhatTimmy
    Offline

    PhatTimmy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    WA State
    Mine WiFi has been great until the past couple days, it doesn't want to stay connected. It jumps back and forth between 3G and WiFi.
Similar Threads
  1. Hypnotic
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,897
  2. See
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    615
  3. brucin
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,062
  4. Ridgefire
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,075
  5. jbh
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    735
Loading...
Search tags for this page

128 bit wep hex android problem

,

htc rezound saya router not in range

,

rezound not in range