wifi issue. please help

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by jasonb, Dec 12, 2009.

  1. jasonb
    Offline

    jasonb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have an issue where when I have my droid and my laptop on wifi at the same time I lose the wifi completely. When I turn of my laptop or disconnect my droid from wifi the other device once again has wifi. I just can't use wifi on both at the same time. Any idea on how to solve this issue?
  2. dezymond
    Online

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,694
    Likes Received:
    529
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Sounds like a router issue to me. Take a look at your settings, maybe you limited the number of devices that can access it.
  3. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,630
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Yeah this has nothing to do with your droid unit. This has to be a router issue. I use wireless on all computers in my house and I have zero problem using the droid on the same network. I'm usually sitting about 1-2 feet from my computer at all times, and my phone is always right next to me also.
  4. jasonb
    Offline

    jasonb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i didn't think it was a droid issue. my guess is that both devices are trying to use the same exact IP address. but i have no idea how to fix this issue.
  5. mth04
    Offline

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    It depends onthe router and PC. Give teh PC a static address will fix that if they are both trying to use the same IP. Maybe he can just turn DHCP on and let the router assign the IP.
  6. jasonb
    Offline

    jasonb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i still have this problem. anybody know whats going on? i also can't have the phone on wifi and have my ps3 on wifi at the same time. anybody know anything about routers?
  7. jasonb
    Offline

    jasonb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    fixed it! did a hard reset on my router and now all is good.