Wifi issue driving me crazy!

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible Tech Support' started by ickselglic, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. ickselglic

    ickselglic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, I had a Motorola Droid that always connected to my home wifi, all the time, no problems, WPA2 by the way. I've had my DInc for 2 weeks, and the DInc will only connect to my home wifi for 2 days before it just stops at "Obtaining IP Address..." and then won't connect again until I unplug and plug back in my home router.

    When I go to work, also WPA2, it will connect everyday. What's different about my home router? Why does the DInc connect for a couple days and then stop? My Droid would always connect.
     
  2. jimmyco2008

    jimmyco2008 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sounds like your router. Is it a Belkin or a D-Link? And see if you can install a custom OS for your router, dd-wrt is pretty popular. Google dd-wrt, see if your router is compatable via their site!

    If dd-wrt isn't in your future, I would try a different encryption. WPA2 is kinda shrewish on my router, I use WPA.
     
  3. ickselglic

    ickselglic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply. It does seem to be specific to my router. But my Droid never had any issues. Does the incredible handle WiFi differently?
     
  4. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I don't know that much about Routers, but I had a Linksys Wireless N router that my Storm, D1, and D2 all had issues staying connected to. The thing up and died last week so I replaced it with a Belkin and now everything works fine. And if I power it off for a couple of seconds my TiVo's don't have to be reconnected to the network with a new ip address.
     
  5. jimmyco2008

    jimmyco2008 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    So what kind of router do you have?

    The Droid Incredible's wifi isn't handled differently than anything else though.
     
  6. ickselglic

    ickselglic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's a dlink router.
     
  7. jimmyco2008

    jimmyco2008 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    There's your problem lol

    I had a D-link, and no matter what I did, factory resets, unsecuring the network, anything I could do in settings wouldn't work.

    Nothing at all would connect... Except for this laptop, but you get my point.
     
  8. manilaboy1vic

    manilaboy1vic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    planet earth
    Ratings:
    +3
    can you chose a Wireless Channel on the router..

    I had issues yesterday with my router and my PCs... Tons of packet loss and latency.. then I switched to channel 11 and my problems went away...
     
Search tags for this page
belkin, android wont obtain ip address
,
lg black wont obtain ip address
,
lg revo not staying connected to belkin router
,
lg revolurion not staying connected to belkin router
,
lg revolution obtaining ip
,

lg vortex obtaining ip address

,

lg vortex wont connect to wifi

,
lg695m wifi not working
,
my lg 695 wifi is not responding
,
my wifi on my lg 695 is not responding