Wifi inoperable

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by DroidX1114, Oct 17, 2010.

  1. DroidX1114

    DroidX1114 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone help?

    It detects my home network, tries to connect to it, but then just fails and keeps trying to reconnect.

    Everything has been double checked, password etc. The router is ok...my friend's iphone connects to it perfectly.

    Please help..
     
  2. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,180
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    I'd like to know too. Recently I got a new modem (Motorola SBG6580) which has Wifi so this is the first time since I got my Droid 1 (11/6/09) that I had an actual need to turn on the Wifi on my phone. It does the same thing, although it sometimes connects and stays connected; for a while, at least. Then it loses the connection.
     
  3. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Are you running 802.11N perhaps? The Droid hardware cant support the N infrastructure.
     
  4. Sgt Jiggy

    Sgt Jiggy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had to customize the firewalls in my router, once I did that it was fixed.
     
  5. DroidX1114

    DroidX1114 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oo I have to check...but my friend on his iphone connects to it? Don't tell me apple +1 android 0....

    Again like above, if that's the case, then my friend(s) wouldn't be able to connect either?

    Thanks all for the replies however!
     
  6. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Check and get back to us. I dont really consider the N thing a loss -- 54Mbit is more than enough.
     
  7. DroidX1114

    DroidX1114 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. Sgt Jiggy

    Sgt Jiggy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, my wifes HTC connected to it just fine prior to the change.
     
  9. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,180
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    On my modem, it's 802.11a/b/g/n
     
  10. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Are you broadcasting your SSID?
     
  11. DroidX1114

    DroidX1114 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think I am...
     
  12. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Droid 1s don't like ssids not being broadcast. The wifi chip is good but limited, so you should turn that on if it's off.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
Search tags for this page

cell phone to motorola sbg6580

,

connecting a galaxy s4 to motorola sbg6580

,
connecting samsung galaxy s4 to motorola sbg6580
,
how to enable broadcast ssid on sbg6580
,
how to turn off broadcast ssid for surfboard
,

motorola sbg6580 not broadcasting

,
motorola surfboard sbg6580 how to connect when ssid not broa
,
motorola surfboard wont display ssid
,

new motorola surfboard will not broadcast

,
turn off ssid transmit sbg6580