wifi connectivity unreliable with AES (DLink DIR-655)

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by Johnw, Jul 18, 2010.

  1. Johnw
    Offline

    Johnw New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a DLink DIR-655 which was previously configured with WPA2 and AES under 802.11n. Unfortunately, the Droid X would lose connectivity after brief usage and wouldn't reconnect unless I stopped WIFI and reconnected. Other computers and laptops on the network continued to work so the problem is isolated to the Droid X.

    I was able to resolve the problem by reconfiguring the DIR-655 with TKIP instead of AES. I thought I would post this in case anyone else ran into this problem. Hopefully Motorola/Verizon will fix this in the next firmware release.
  2. Interpol
    Offline

    Interpol New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the tip. Been having the same issues with my D-Link DIR-825 and DIR-655. Just switched my 2.4GHz 802.11n encryption to WPA2/TKIP and will see if this fixes my WiFi connectivity problems.

    EDIT: OK, been up and running with TKIP and so far no data freezes/lockups. Also I emailed a friend of mine who has a Droid X without any WiFi problems and verified that his router was running WPA2/TKIP.
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2010
  3. Interpol
    Offline

    Interpol New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks like the new .604 OTA update fixed the issue. My router's back to WPA2/AES and no connectivity issues.
  4. 07aspenx
    Offline

    07aspenx New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am also using the same dir 655 router with the same issue as you. Just updated and it looks like it fixed the issue.
  5. Johnw
    Offline

    Johnw New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think I'm still experiencing problem with the new firmware though less frequently. Anyone else?
  6. JFDroid
    Offline

    JFDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Edit: I'm dumb. Really dumb. Forgot that WPA-PSK is TKIP and WPA2-PSK is AES. Excuse my idiocy =P

    I'm having issues using WPA2 + PSK (AES). I didn't try TKIP yet, or WEP, but I have *zero* issues with an open network. Can't I just set it to an open network and then set MAC address filtering to on, that way only devices whose MAC addresses have been entered can get onto my network?
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2010
  7. Interpol
    Offline

    Interpol New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm afraid I may have spoken too soon. Had no problems last night after the update, but I had the same data freeze issues this morning. Switching back to WPA2 + TKIP fixed it. Maybe there'll be a fix in 2.2.
  8. Interpol
    Offline

    Interpol New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Doing that will certainly prevent most people from piggybacking on your network, but I say "most" because it's not difficult to spoof a MAC address. Also it does nothing for point-to-point data security between your computers/devices and the access point.
  9. vadgito
    Offline

    vadgito New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im using two routers in my house, a dir-655 and an airport express n, ironically it is the airport express that is giving me issues not the dir-655. Like the OP im using wpa/wpa2 with aes on the 655 and havent had any issues. On the airport, it is set to N only wpa/wpa2 and i have frequent disconnects, slow speeds, android telling me my router is out of range, all while being 3 feet away.
  10. wifiwiz
    Offline

    wifiwiz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @vadgito
    it is somewhat interesting that some are reporting problems with the Airport router and for others it is working without a problem. I don't think anyone in the different forums was able to figure out what exactly is the difference between these 2 cases.
    Really, the only thing that comes to mind is to make sure your Airport router firmware is up-to-date and that the router is not in a bad state (after you rebooted it). Maybe you can disconnect all the other devices connected to it and try once again with different security settings. Just a thought...
  11. wmcushing
    Offline

    wmcushing New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just switched to TKIP and it seem to have fixed it (too soon to be sure). I previously was on WEP and was experiencing the problem as well as a unsecured network. @motorola and/or @verizon still need to address the issue, this isn't going to help me when I'm at my local coffee shop or airport.
  12. zoulkyud
    Offline

    zoulkyud New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am seeing that this issues occurs on my end when the key is set to auto. When you enter your password for wifi is it set for auto or WPA/WPA2? I think it may just be that the auto feature for the key isn't very good at entering the correct type of key or info.
  13. CarsMatic
    Offline

    CarsMatic New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm also having connectivity issues with my Airport Extreme. It will connect but then drop a few minutes later and then a few seconds reconnect again. Subscribed to this post to see if there are any fixes.
  14. -MikeR-
    Offline

    -MikeR- New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have this DLink router and i am having the same problem, even with the new update. I think ill stick with 3G at home until they get this fixed.
  15. fccs
    Offline

    fccs New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same issue and same dir 655 router
  16. MisterG23
    Offline

    MisterG23 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Did we ever get an answer here? I have a D-link 825 and my DROID X connects, disconnects, searches repeat.... over and over... Lots of talk here about connecting TKIP vs AES and WPA-PSK & WPA2-PSK.

    Problem is, us tech challenged folks could use some more help on how exactly to change these settings.

    This thread may be dead, so possibly a moot point here. But thought I would give it a shot.

    Any Help?
  17. nmos
    Offline

    nmos New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don’t know if it applies to the X or not but with my Droid "classic" the wifi power management caused similar problems with some routers. I'm rooted and so was able to adjust my /etc/wifi/tiwlan.ini file.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  18. HangTenKen
    Offline

    HangTenKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same issue, Same Solution

    I have a Verizon/Motorola Droid which just received Android 2.2.2 OTA. I've had the Wifi unreliability issue since I bought the phone back in Dec. 2009 and at that time tried to resolve the issue, but could get no help from Verizon, Motorola nor D-Link. I was glad when I thought to look again today and found this thread. I tried the TKIP setting on my D-Link DIR 655 router and this long time issue is resolved. THANKS FOR POSTING THIS!!!

    For the recent non-tech poster who needs help on this, you'll need to consult the manual (or webpage) regarding your router to adjust the settings. Roughly speaking you need to point a browser on your PC to the the default gateway of your router (192.168.0.1 in my case) and it will bring up your router's log-in screen. Log-in as Admin with a password you've already set or with the default password that came with your router (you can probably google that, I don't recall what mine used to be).

    Once you are in to your router's admin website, you can configure these settings (at least on the DIR 655, possibly similarly on other D-Link routers) by Set UP [tab] / Wireless Settings [nav bar]/ Manual Configuration [button] / WPA [section] / cipher [dropdown] and select TKIP setting. Hope this helps.

    -Hang Ten Ken
  19. MotoMile
    Offline

    MotoMile New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My network using the DIR655 is protected with WPA/WPA2. Will changing to TKIP affect the security of my network? Sorry, non-tech savy senior here. Thanks for your help.
  20. joojoobee666
    Offline

    joojoobee666 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, TKIP is vulnerable to attacks and is almost as insecure as WEP.

    I have the same problem with a Droid 1and a Droid 2 Global and my Linksys wireless router. Firmware has not helped. There is CLEARLY something wrong with Moto's implementation of WPA2/AES on all of the Droid's. When either are connected, other devices (laptops, etc.) randomly lose connection too.

    My fix has been to leave WiFi disabled on all Droid devices and suck the living crap out of VZW's 3G network, as I don't have another choice. Lowering security is NOT an option for me but I did verify reducing security to WEP/TKIP does resolve the issue here as well. No other devices have a problem with this. Just Motorola.

    Never again...big M. Never again.....
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2011
Search tags for this page

android 4.04 connection problem dlink dir-655

,

d link how to change from aes to tkip

,

dir 655 tkip or aes

,
dlink aes wifi limited connectivity
,
dlink router aes wpa2 limited
,

droid x wpa2 aes

,

droid x2 aes

,
how to change aes to tkip dlink
,

htc one disconnects wifi dlink 655

,

htc one dlink 655

,
is wpa2 compatible with motorola droid x
,
my dlink dir655 will not connect to wifi
,

new htc one dlink 655

,

wifi slow aes

,
wpa2 aes. con android