Wifi connection?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by pobrien904, Dec 2, 2010.

  1. pobrien904
    Offline

    pobrien904 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Everytime try to connect tome wifi at my house it keeps connecting then disabling.... am I doing something wrong?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  2. logsdza
    Offline

    logsdza New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine does the same thing. Only for my home connection... otherwise the coffee shop next to work is fine.
  3. Valamatimez
    Offline

    Valamatimez New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problem. My network is WEPd n loops thru connecting then disabling. My gf network doesn't have any protection n connects right away n stays connected. Ideas?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  4. youngnj21
    Offline

    youngnj21 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problem on my school's wifi. It works on my girlfriends WPA protected network. To use my school's wifi you have to be connected to the network, then register the devise on their servers, but i cant connect to the network in order to register it. It's super frustrating.
  5. SysFailur3
    Offline

    SysFailur3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also have the same issue.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL
  6. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This seems to be a pretty common / known issue on the mosg recent generation of Droids - the inability to connect to WPA/WPA2 networks.

    I haven't seen a fix yet.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  7. Santa
    Offline

    Santa New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It works!!!

    The only thing i see common when it was not working for me is when I had turned the SSID name broadcast "Disabled" then it does not connect
    As soon as i enabled then I have WPA2 security TKIP/AES with MAC address filtering and it works!!!
    try Enabling SSID broadcast...
    Let me know if it helps!!!
  8. Angry Bill
    Offline

    Angry Bill New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I connect to my WPA enabled home network no issues. all I did was type in the password into the droid and it took right off. Sorry you're having issues. Frustrating, ain't it?
  9. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where do we do that? :x

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  10. Santa
    Offline

    Santa New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You have to enable it in your router settings

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  11. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah, okay, I thought you meant the phone could broadcast something too. That's already enabled on my router :<


    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  12. youngnj21
    Offline

    youngnj21 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you think the problem is the phones, or the wifi networks?
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2010
  13. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I feel like the problem is too widespread to NOT be phone-specific.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  14. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We got a fix?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  15. mrapollinax
    Offline

    mrapollinax New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a D1 and D2G and both connect to my home wifi without any issues:

    WPA2
    TKIP/AES enabled
    WPA Group Re-Key Time = Never
    EAP Authentication enabled

    Hope this helps.
  16. Phineas
    Offline

    Phineas New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When attempting to activate Wi-Fi via my router at home, my phone recognizes my open access point, but ultimately fails to connect. It then scans for additional open wireless access points and allows me to connect via my neighbor's router, but not my own, which strikes me as rather odd.
  17. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    which of these are router settings and which are phone settings?



    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  18. mrapollinax
    Offline

    mrapollinax New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Those are all AP (router) settings. Clients (phones/PCs) have no control on the security negotiation and must match up with the AP in order to handshake and negotiate.
  19. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks like I'll have to jump into my router settings on the PC, then.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  20. jayarmstrong
    Offline

    jayarmstrong New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One of our two d2g's had this issue, even after multiple reboots. It was not router related but seemed to be fixed by removing the motorola wifi-toggle widget from the homescreen. The second phone has yet to bug out like the first one did, even though it's on the stock (2.4.29) firmware. I also updated the troubled phone to 2.4.330 before giving it a really thorough test, so that may have helped, too.

    Router settings are G/N mixed, 2.4GHz only, wpa2/AES and, to be clear, both phones are working perfectly now.

    I recommend using AES-only mode on your router rather than TKIP/AES. TKIP is a security vulnerability in WPA/WPA2, as I understand.
Search tags for this page
can not connect droid2 global to home wifi
,
connecting unactivated droid 4 to wifi
,
droid 2 global activate wifi open line
,
droid 2 global no wifi
,

droid 2 global not connecting to wifi

,
droid 2 global wifi disabled
,
droid 2 global wifi settings broken
,
droid 2 global will not connect to wifi
,
droid 3 global wifi
,
droid handshake wifi
,
how to connect droid global to wifi disableed
,
how to connect droidglobal 2 to wifi
,
wifi connection
,
wifi connecys then disables on android global 2
,
wifi unstable on motorola droid 2 global