1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Wifi cancels out my 3G/4G signal

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by gossett, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. gossett
    Offline

    gossett New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did my best to search on this but couldn't find anything. Like the rest of us i'm having issues with my Bionic. I work in IT and sit right next to a wireless router. Well whenever I connect to it my 3g symbol goes white and I can't access the market. All of my issue are market related and it seems when wifi and 3g/4g are on I can't do anything. well I took it too verizon store locally and was going to give it back (this is my second one). they promptly connected to their wifi and the data was on and everything was fine. Is anyone else seeing the wifi 'take over' or turn off the 3g/4g? I had it rooted and ROM'd and had to unroot and factory flash it back but what exactly is the deal with the wifi and the marketplace ? thanks
  2. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    neptune
    Does it happen on your home network? Sounds as if your work network is blocking the market...

    Does gtalk sign on?
    There is a fix of tweaking the firewall to allow the gapps( market mainly) but dont remember what it is right off..

    posted tomorrow using the space time continuum app on my D1...
  3. gossett
    Offline

    gossett New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. gossett
    Offline

    gossett New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this is what verizon tech support told me

    Franklin at tech support informed me that the android market only works over 3g/4g for certain devices for security purposes; the bionic being one. He went on to tell me about how it worked with the iphone (which is true as I had one before this). as bizarre as all this sounds I did test and verify it at least at two wifi hotspots. I believe it's verizons way of making sure you use their new pay per gig data plan for the store as if you used wifi you never would have to. Makes perfect sense. while it still seems bizarre whenever I would turn off wifi I can get to the market with no problems so unless I hear something different (mind you this is my third bionic and the chances of three being bad are not really possible since two people I work with got one from the same batch) i'm just going to have to go with their explanation
  6. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    neptune
    Sounds strange...

    When Verizon hooked it to their wifi did it access the market?



    posted tomorrow using the space time continuum app on my D1...
  7. gossett
    Offline

    gossett New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes it worked

    they explained it to me that it did work as because they use (of course) an officialy verizon access point so the phone recognizes it as a verizon wireless hotspot as opposed to any non verizon hotspot. As you said weird but i've had no problems since. I actually called back verizon tech support today to ask someone else if it was true and had my girlfriend call too and it's the same answer: droid over 3/4 G only because of security reasons (read: verizon wants to control us all)
  8. brandon9559
    Offline

    brandon9559 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I access the market perfectly fine over wifi. I do it everyday.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  9. gossett
    Offline

    gossett New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's weird as hell. this is my second (actually third) that i've not been able to connect to it on wifi. if you can any ideas why I can't? After hearing from verizon and you i'm not sure what to think.
  10. brandon9559
    Offline

    brandon9559 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah it is. Im connected to wifi right now and can update/ download apps perfectly fine.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  11. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Try FxR wifi from the market. I was having issues connecting to campus wifi from my phone (it would connect but I couldn't access market/websites). Since running FxR, i've had no issues.

    *disclaimer: it may or may not work. It has something like a 60% success rate

    Sent from my CushZero using DroidForums
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2011
  12. gossett
    Offline

    gossett New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks everyone so far i'll try this out. I've contacted tech support every day to try and figure out what the hell is going on. Today I got: 'it's a known issue but not all Bionic have the same problem'. supposedly a fix is on the way sometime in the future. I did have one weird thing happen: yesterday after I got into the market using 3g i backed out and turned on wifi and went back into the market. I was able to download about two things before it failed again
  13. drakenhoffen
    Offline

    drakenhoffen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That sounds like a dns issue, it can hit the dns over 3g and chaches the ip of the market, but over wifi it can't hit the dns server, or wifi is not giving out a dns when it gives out ip.

    check and see what your router is giving your phone as far as ip address. you can also get a term emulation program that will let you run some ping checkes and traceroutes.
  14. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    neptune
    Awhile back i added the market's ip to my routers firewall, i just cant remember what it was... search df it should be here..

    posted tomorrow using the space time continuum app on my D1...
  15. SonicTurtle
    Offline

    SonicTurtle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    WiFi "connected" no market access or internet

    Glad to have found this post. The issues still persist. I have a similar story; wife and I ordered new phones (me the Bionic, she the i4S). My Droid is available in store, comes home the same day. I set up the phone and everything seems fine, except I notice that though I am connected to my network via Wifi, I can't use WiFi to access the market or internet. Turn off WiFi and the market and internet browsing are fine via 3g or 4g. So I go to Verizon.

    Verizon accesses the market and browses via their WiFi and tells me it's my router. I go home, check the router, power down then back up everything is fine. Xbox, laptop, desktop all connected and running fine; still Bionic won't browse or use market while WiFi is connected. My wife's phone arrives by post, we connect to the WiFi and immediately try to surf and use the market place for apps. Apple's product works great. I have run the gambit from assigning static IP addresses, changing channels, slowing my download speeds, and factory resets on the phone. I have turned off Wifi sleep. I have reconfigured my connection a hundred times with the exact same result. So, Motorola and Verizon acknowledged there's an issue about six months ago. It's not fixed, and there are some blogs about Netgear Router compatibility issues, though my model (WNR2000) is not listed as one of the potential versions of conflict. If there's any fresh ideas out there please let me know. Though the issue has been a minor nuisance, data usage can be expensive: without the use of Wifi from home, I will could easily get charged a pretty penny if I were to exceed my plan . . .yet maybe I have missed the point; perhaps the plan IS for me to exceed my usage. <smirking> I don't have any sage advice. There is information on Motorola's site under troubleshooting that is helpful in many cases; in mine it proved no help.
  16. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    This is interesting bc I never use 3g/4g when I am home or at work but am always able to connect to market thru my wifi. The only time I ever have to turn off wifi and use 3g/4g its if I'm downloading a pic msg.

    Sent from my AT100 using DroidForums
  17. mfields78
    Offline

    mfields78 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am having the exact same issue. I emailed Verizon tech support and have not heard any response back. Any luck with yours?

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using DroidForums
  18. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    neptune
    Call your ISP ..

    posted tomorrow using the space time continuum app on my D1...
  19. jayman350
    Offline

    jayman350 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lowell, Ma
    that is very strange that VZW is saying that it is intentional, b/c there are at least a handful of apps that will ONLY d/l over wifi. So if you can only access the market via 3G/4G, but you can only d/l certain apps via wifi, they are essentially blocking these apps from people. Something doesn't seem right here, if it was intentional then no one should be able to access the market via wifi, but it seems like some people have the issue while others don't.

    BTW, I have no issues with connecting to the market via wifi.
  20. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Again, I agree. I am always able to connect to market and download over wifi. And the only time I have ever been refused a download is if I was on 3g/4g and for some apps, get a prompt saying that I need to connect to wifi in order to download the app.

    Sent from my AT100 using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
android wifi blocking 3g
,
can wifi block 3g
,
droid bionic only works with wifi
,
droid bionic wifi conflicts with 3g reception
,
how do i know if i'm using 4g or wifi on my samsung rugby
,
how do i turn on my 3g on my continuum
,
how does someone know if they are using wifi or 4g?
,
my droid bionic only works on wifi network
,
what can block your internet signal on a 3 g device
,
whenever my wi-fi is on the 3g goes white
,

where did my 3g go

,

where is my 3g

,
why did my 4g droid go back to 3g just now?
,
why does my android 3g not do well on wifi
,
wifi cancels 3g