WIFI and Tether not working

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by cnmsales, Jun 28, 2010.

  1. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can someone please help. My wifi connection is not working since rooting my phone. I am able to connect to the wifi @ work. But at home it just sits on obtaining an IP address.

    I dont have any security set up on home router. All other devices can connect. It is an N router but is set to G mode only.

    QOS is off.

    Dont know why the teathering isnt working? I saw someone comment that they thought the wifi tether option did adhoc instead of a true access point. Is this true? Does this require you to connect in a specific way?
  2. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So you have two different questions, right?

    One regarding connecting to Wifi at home, and the other regarding tethering your phone to your PC?

    And yes, Wifi tether is ad-hoc, and no, it shouldnt impact how you connect to it, unless you've directed your PC to not connect to ad-hoc networks.
  3. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes two different questions. I want to connect my xbox to my wifi tether.
    But i also want to connect my phone to my wireless network since flashing to froyo.
  4. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, for starters, you cant connect your XBox to an ad-hoc network. Second, since you can connect to other Wifi networks, I'm guessing something's wrong with your setup at home.
  5. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope, all other devices at home can connect to my network.

    Why is there an option for adhoc in the xbox if it cant be done?

    Ive seen other brag about them doing?
  6. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, they use another PC to bridge the connections.