wi-fi question

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by trackman1, Jul 27, 2012.

  1. trackman1
    Offline

    trackman1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Just curious is the rezound Hot spot app the same as Wi-FI?....does it give sites in the area if locked or unlocked?? thanks
  2. trackman1
    Offline

    trackman1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I guess it was a foolish question since no one will help explain it
  3. LoudRam
    Offline

    LoudRam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    The hot spot feature turns your phone into a mobile internet connection point via your data (3g/4g). You can go through your phone and connect to the internet using your laptop. But VZ might charge for that depending on your plan. If you're looking for wifi hot spots they have apps for that or your phone can search them out too but the apps might make finding and connecting to them easier. Personally I don't trust or use public wifi hot spots.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound infused with ice cream goodness using Droid Forums.
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2012
  4. LoudRam
    Offline

    LoudRam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    It wasn't a foolish question. Now if you asked Who's hurried in Grants tomb? That would be a foolish question because everyone knows that it's George Washington.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound infused with ice cream goodness using Droid Forums.
  5. electricman58
    Offline

    electricman58 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Lol :-D No ones burried in Grants tomb actually!!! Jk

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
  6. LoudRam
    Offline

    LoudRam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    I learned my answer from a Bugs Bunny cartoon so it has to be right.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound infused with ice cream goodness using Droid Forums.
  7. electricman58
    Offline

    electricman58 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    The answer to your question is YES!

    Its outgoing signal, NOT incoming!

    1. When Hotspot is enabled, you are broadcasting wifi just like a router and it is being converted using your 3g/4g connection! My Bionic says it can connect to 5 devices. Most I've done is 4!

    If you use Vzw hotspot you have to pay for that!!!

    Try "FoxFi" from the play store!!! Its Free!
    And No they can't tell that your using it! :)

    2. Do you mean secured! You can secure your hotspot with foxfi by adding pass protection, wep-wap-etc...

    When I secure it, it just starts workin funky on me, so I just leave it off!
    If someone else tries to connect while your using it, it'll Chirp!! Lol

    If you are looking for an outside signal, download a wifi analyzer App for that!
    Or look in your phones wifi settings and it should tell you if those sites are secure or not!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2012
  8. LoudRam
    Offline

    LoudRam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Do you have a Rezound? If so, how did you get it to work? Foxfi doesn't work with HTC devices running GB or older. Only newer ones with ICS. The HTC One X was the example Foxfi gave. However myself and quite a few other Rezound owners running the ICS leak can't get it to work. Have you figured out a way?

    Sent from my HTC Rezound infused with ice cream goodness using Droid Forums.
  9. electricman58
    Offline

    electricman58 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Yikes! :( I'm sorry! Foxfi says it works on newer HTC devices and I just thought the Rezound was one of them!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
  10. electricman58
    Offline

    electricman58 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    I just went back and checked....it does say "Bluetooth mode works for "All" phones"! Dont know what that entails or how you would even connect to anything that way???

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
  11. Snoking
    Offline

    Snoking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I bluetooth tether my Acer Iconia A200 tablet to my Rezound.. FoxFi on the Rezound and PDANET TABLET on the Acer.

    For a laptop you can USB tether with PDANET 3.5 on the Rezound and PDANET client on the laptop.
  12. electricman58
    Offline

    electricman58 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Really? FoxFi and PdaNet can talk to each other over Bluetooth with the tablet? Nice! :)

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
  13. Snoking
    Offline

    Snoking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Really!
  14. LoudRam
    Offline

    LoudRam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    I know about the BT option but I don't have a dongle for my laptop yet.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound infused with ice cream goodness using Droid Forums.
  15. trackman1
    Offline

    trackman1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    thanks for the help....what is a good wi-fi analyzer app?????
  16. LoudRam
    Offline

    LoudRam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    I've always liked "Wifi Analyzer". It works great and it's free.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound infused with ice cream goodness using Droid Forums.
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2012
  17. trackman1
    Offline

    trackman1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    thanks but i did a search and cant find it?...can you tell me where to get it?.......is that the exact name???
  18. LoudRam
    Offline

    LoudRam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southern NJ
  19. trackman1
    Offline

    trackman1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
  20. electricman58
    Offline

    electricman58 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    That's funny! :) That's the one I use too! I like the graphs and colors!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
Search tags for this page

hotspot rezound verizon app wap