wi-fi question

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by trackman1, Jul 27, 2012.

  1. trackman1

    trackman1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just curious is the rezound Hot spot app the same as Wi-FI?....does it give sites in the area if locked or unlocked?? thanks
     
  2. trackman1

    trackman1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess it was a foolish question since no one will help explain it
     
  3. LoudRam

    LoudRam Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Ratings:
    +146
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto X
    The hot spot feature turns your phone into a mobile internet connection point via your data (3g/4g). You can go through your phone and connect to the internet using your laptop. But VZ might charge for that depending on your plan. If you're looking for wifi hot spots they have apps for that or your phone can search them out too but the apps might make finding and connecting to them easier. Personally I don't trust or use public wifi hot spots.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound infused with ice cream goodness using Droid Forums.
     
    #3 LoudRam, Jul 27, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2012
  4. LoudRam

    LoudRam Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Ratings:
    +146
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto X
    It wasn't a foolish question. Now if you asked Who's hurried in Grants tomb? That would be a foolish question because everyone knows that it's George Washington.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound infused with ice cream goodness using Droid Forums.
     
  5. electricman58

    electricman58 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Ratings:
    +69
    Current Phone Model:
    "ROOTED" Droid Turbo
    Lol :-D No ones burried in Grants tomb actually!!! Jk

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
     
  6. LoudRam

    LoudRam Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Ratings:
    +146
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto X
    I learned my answer from a Bugs Bunny cartoon so it has to be right.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound infused with ice cream goodness using Droid Forums.
     
  7. electricman58

    electricman58 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Ratings:
    +69
    Current Phone Model:
    "ROOTED" Droid Turbo
    The answer to your question is YES!

    Its outgoing signal, NOT incoming!

    1. When Hotspot is enabled, you are broadcasting wifi just like a router and it is being converted using your 3g/4g connection! My Bionic says it can connect to 5 devices. Most I've done is 4!

    If you use Vzw hotspot you have to pay for that!!!

    Try "FoxFi" from the play store!!! Its Free!
    And No they can't tell that your using it! :)

    2. Do you mean secured! You can secure your hotspot with foxfi by adding pass protection, wep-wap-etc...

    When I secure it, it just starts workin funky on me, so I just leave it off!
    If someone else tries to connect while your using it, it'll Chirp!! Lol

    If you are looking for an outside signal, download a wifi analyzer App for that!
    Or look in your phones wifi settings and it should tell you if those sites are secure or not!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
     
    #7 electricman58, Jul 27, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2012
  8. LoudRam

    LoudRam Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Ratings:
    +146
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto X
    Do you have a Rezound? If so, how did you get it to work? Foxfi doesn't work with HTC devices running GB or older. Only newer ones with ICS. The HTC One X was the example Foxfi gave. However myself and quite a few other Rezound owners running the ICS leak can't get it to work. Have you figured out a way?

    Sent from my HTC Rezound infused with ice cream goodness using Droid Forums.
     
  9. electricman58

    electricman58 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Ratings:
    +69
    Current Phone Model:
    "ROOTED" Droid Turbo
    Yikes! :( I'm sorry! Foxfi says it works on newer HTC devices and I just thought the Rezound was one of them!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
     
  10. electricman58

    electricman58 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Ratings:
    +69
    Current Phone Model:
    "ROOTED" Droid Turbo
    I just went back and checked....it does say "Bluetooth mode works for "All" phones"! Dont know what that entails or how you would even connect to anything that way???

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
     
  11. Snoking

    Snoking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I bluetooth tether my Acer Iconia A200 tablet to my Rezound.. FoxFi on the Rezound and PDANET TABLET on the Acer.

    For a laptop you can USB tether with PDANET 3.5 on the Rezound and PDANET client on the laptop.
     
  12. electricman58

    electricman58 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Ratings:
    +69
    Current Phone Model:
    "ROOTED" Droid Turbo
    Really? FoxFi and PdaNet can talk to each other over Bluetooth with the tablet? Nice! :)

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
     
Search tags for this page

hotspot rezound verizon app wap