Wi-Fi or 3G?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by jimfreeman, Feb 11, 2010.

  1. jimfreeman

    jimfreeman New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    When both a Wi-Fi and 3G network are available, does the Droid default to one or the other? Is this function user-selectable, other than turning off Wi-Fi? How can the user tell which network is being used?
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    You should see a 3G symbol when not using wifi. Wifi will give you a "beacon" symble. If you have your phone set for wifi and leave the area it will default back to 3G. Wifi is user established.
     
  3. zero7404

    zero7404 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    when wifi is on, that is the preferred connection. when you drop out of range from your wifi network, it switches to 3G. i just wish android had a solid connection for wpa2-aes encrypted networks....wifi is faster than 3G.....
     
  4. JRogers1978

    JRogers1978 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Fairhaven, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any idea as to which one uses more battery?
     
  5. Merire

    Merire New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wifi uses way more battery.
     
  6. JRogers1978

    JRogers1978 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Fairhaven, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I was afraid of. Thanks!
     
  7. dylanthecat

    dylanthecat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have to disagree. I have WIFI always on and in never sleep mode. When at home I am on WIFI and when I get to work it switches again to WIFI. I am only on 3G when in other places. Running this way uses less battery than without WIFI, and the speed is much faster.
     
  8. Fraxinus

    Fraxinus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Haven, CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is correct, there is just a little more to it than that. I've been watching bits and pieces of this video (Google I/O - Coding for Life -- Battery Life, That Is) on Google IO (very informative!). You can also download a PDF of the presentation from there. This is taken straight from Jeff Sharkey's slides:

    So it really depends on what you are doing. For massive data transfer, your'e actually better off with WiFi. Even though it consumes more amperage to run, it won't operate as long to transfer the same amount of data, thus saving battery life.
     
  9. dylanthecat

    dylanthecat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    Interesting figures. I would also add that it depends on the strength of the signal, be it wifi or 3g. In my situation I have good wifi and 3g home and work. My download speed is around 6-7Mbps home and work on the droid, and 3G is about 1.5 to 1.7 Mbps. Therefore according to your numbers, for me wifi is even more of a battery savings.
     
    #9 dylanthecat, Feb 11, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2010
  10. Fraxinus

    Fraxinus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Haven, CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great point. Cellphone wireless radios in general will ramp up their power output in the presence of a weak signal, consuming more power (and exposing you to more RADs too).
     
  11. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Right now i'm having tower trouble so I'm using wifi at home. But I can see from my battery usage that when I'm in normal 3g situation that WiFi uses more power. YMMV
     
  12. baruch

    baruch New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    VOIP i.e., via Wi-Fi using SKYPE or gizmo5 (google)

    has anyone been able to make VOIP calls utilizing the above?
     
Search tags for this page
android default to 3g
,

android default to wifi

,

android default wifi

,
android defaults to wifi
,

android wifi default

,
default android wifi
,
does android default to wifi
,
setting wifi en default in android
,
verizon android phone defaulting to wifi
,
why does my droid default to wifi