1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

WI-FI Hotspot

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Pro' started by SDW, Apr 25, 2011.

  1. SDW
    Offline

    SDW New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there a way to create a Wi-Fi network on my Droid Pro and be able to log on to it using my laptop?

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums
  2. jwgraves
    Offline

    jwgraves New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had to root my phone, but then installing "Wireless Tether for Root Users" from the Market, I connect my laptop all the time to my Pro. I love it!
  3. SDW
    Offline

    SDW New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am not rooted. Is this the only way it can be done?

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums
  4. dfuser312553
    Offline

    dfuser312553 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    PDAnet 10char
  5. rudydroid
    Offline

    rudydroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    imperial valley, california
    I'm going to guess there is a formal app from your cellular provider to tether legally, if that's what you want. Likely already in your app drawer or in the market. If neither, call your provider.
    If you're looking for illegal, I won't help you.

    running liberty gingerbread v0.3, slightly oc'd
  6. jwgraves
    Offline

    jwgraves New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As far as I know, yes, the app that is included on the Pro called "3G Mobile Hotspot" does the same thing but from what I've heard costs money.
  7. dfuser312553
    Offline

    dfuser312553 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's fine I'll help him. FYI none of this is illegal.
  8. SDW
    Offline

    SDW New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the advice. I will give it a shot and see if its worth the money.

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums
  9. dfuser312553
    Offline

    dfuser312553 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. tt07
    Offline

    tt07 New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you plan to get a tethering plan from your carrier then you would have to call them to add it you to your current data plan. Another way is to root your phone and this will allow you to use the wireless tether for free, but be aware if your data usage spikes up alot quickly then they might catch on to you. Just do a little research before you start using it and here's more food for thought. I don't personally use tethering as I don't need it so can't help you much further than this.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...otloaders-rooting-manufacturers-carriers.html
  11. Graymayre
    Offline

    Graymayre New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY
    Why does everyone think rooting and using a free wireless tether is illegal? It is not, nothing in your contract restricts it at all. The only risk is voiding your warranty, and there are ways to cover that like it never happened if you even had to use it. PDAnet was a very popular app that worked with unrooted D1s and Verizon just had that locked out on later devices so that they could charge for it. If you root and do it anyway, they wont stop you. It is just for the regular consumer who doesn't know as much about this stuff and just wants it nice and simple. If you want to pay $20 a month for a limited amount of data, feel free. But I was given unlimited data, and I'm going to use it how I want, where I want. And for those who are afraid Verizon is going to crack down on those using "too much data", the news is that you can DL 100GB+ without considerable notice. You pay enough to them throughout your time with them that they are not going to sever your contract because you are using as much as you are paying for.

    Confirmed by a VZW rep.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  12. Graymayre
    Offline

    Graymayre New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY
    Doesn't work on the models after the D1 without root.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  13. dfuser312553
    Offline

    dfuser312553 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^You sure about that? The reviews of that app don't seem to agree.
  14. Graymayre
    Offline

    Graymayre New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY
    Positive. It's the reason I didn't want to upgrade from my D1, but that was before I rooted. Originally told this by VZW rep, prosonally confirmed on my D2G, and I tried it on the Droid X at the store. It can't establish a data connection without root access. It was disabled on purpose because of its widespread use and its particular exploit. Of course, the Droid Pro could be different, but I doubt it. It can't hurt to try once first, though, before rooting.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  15. dfuser312553
    Offline

    dfuser312553 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There's dozens of DXers giving it 5 stars because it doesn't work then.
  16. Graymayre
    Offline

    Graymayre New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY
    I'm not arguing with you. I only know what I've been told and what I've done. If it works for him, excellent, but I doubt that it will. If I am proven wrong, I will accept that, but it did not work the last time I tried it so I'm fairly certain of my facts.
    I'm not here to make enemies, just check it out next time you are at VZW and please correct me if I am wrong.


    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  17. Cade01
    Offline

    Cade01 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm running PDAnet on my D2G all you have to do is download V3 with you computer whole your phone is connected and it will install it to your phone automatically. I'm using it right now.
Search tags for this page
android hotspot pro free
,
can i make a droid pro a mobile hotspot
,
does the mobile hotspot on droid pro cost
,
droid pro hot spot
,

droid pro hotspot

,

droid pro hotspot free

,
droid pro mobile hotspot
,

droid pro wifi hotspot

,
hotspot and motorola droid pro
,
how to make motorola ap309 hotspot work
,
how to use verizon hotspot on droid pro
,
liberty hotspot reviews
,
using droid pro as wifi hotspot
,
using droid pro as wifi hotspot free
,
verizon motorola droid pro hotspot free