why wont my phone root??

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by sruel3216, May 26, 2010.

  1. sruel3216
    Offline

    sruel3216 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok so i have the spr flashed on my phone (SirPsychoS 0.99.3b). that went well.

    now im triying to root my phone. i put the unzipped file on my sd card. when i go to install i get this message:

    E:cant open /sdcard/update.zip
    (No such file or directory)
    Installation aborted.

    i have tried 5 times. when i plug my phone in my sd card has the file on it. idk tho...

    help please!
     
  2. bthomp21
    Online

    bthomp21 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you "allow" update.zip before you tried to install?
     
  3. sruel3216
    Offline

    sruel3216 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes i did. i read on another thread try just renaming "update." I will try that and see.

    thanks for the reply

    EDIT: that worked what i said. how do i know if it was rooted successful?
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2010
  4. bthomp21
    Online

    bthomp21 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    check your apps and look for superuser permissions i believe
     
  5. chewy74
    Offline

    chewy74 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +16
    pull up your app drawer and look for a ninja icon that says "Superuser Permission"

     
  6. sruel3216
    Offline

    sruel3216 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmm i just turned my phone on. firmware says 2.1 update.

    other then that i dont see a new app...
     
  7. warrior21
    Offline

    warrior21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does the build number say 2.1 by Pete? You should also see the ninja in the app drawer.
     
  8. sruel3216
    Offline

    sruel3216 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok it works now. i just reinstalled it. what is the command promt. i cant remember off the top my head

    when i open the icon its just a blank black screen. is this right?
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2010
  9. warrior21
    Offline

    warrior21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's correct. Once you start to open programs that require root it will ask your permission. When you click ok they will start to show up in there. Are you going to install a custom ROM or just a kernel to overclock and wifi tether?
     
  10. sruel3216
    Offline

    sruel3216 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    well im still trying to understand all this rom and overclocking stuff (just came from a blackberry, MUCH different then loading Operating systems). i just wanted to root to have the option available...but i think overclocking (just speeds up droid??) is what i want. so yea a kernel if thats the way to do it. in the app store there is an app called setcpu. is that any good?
     
  11. warrior21
    Offline

    warrior21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are just looking to keep the stock look and function but have the ability to overclock and maybe wifi tether than you just need a custom kernel. P3 kernels work very well. P3Droid Kernels
    You might want to start at 800mhz and see if that works for you and go from there. You can install the kernel using the same update.zip method you did to gain root access. Once you have the kernel installed you can download set cpu from the market and set you min/max and profiles. It is really simple to do and it doesn't take much time
     
  12. sruel3216
    Offline

    sruel3216 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok this info helped a lot! one more thing. u say to install the kernal like i rooted it. my question is, that file i used to root my phone is also named update.zip. can i deleted my root file from my sd card and then put the kernal on the sd card? also, do i need to wipe my phone again before install?
     
  13. warrior21
    Offline

    warrior21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, you can get rid of the other one, rename the .zip file for the kernel and drop it on the root of your sd card. You can install the kernel without wiping your data/cache.
     
  14. sruel3216
    Offline

    sruel3216 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    awesome! appreciate the fast help! thanks
     
  15. warrior21
    Offline

    warrior21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anytime, let me know how it turns out
     
Search tags for this page
kingo adroid root wont root my phone
,
mobogenie wont root my phone
,
my android wont root
,
my phone wont root
,
phone wont root
,
why won't my phone root
,
why wont my android root
,
why wont my droid root
,

why wont my phone root

,
why wont my phone root?