1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Why "wipe multiple times" ?

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by Shaneathan, May 11, 2010.

  1. Shaneathan
    Offline

    Shaneathan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For a few ROM instructions I've seen people say to wipe data and cache multiple times. I switched to BB from CM using ROM Manager and wiped, but only wiped once. In the instructions for DarkEdge, I saw that you were supposed to wipe multiple times. Why is that? Why is wiping once not good enough? What does it accomplish?
  2. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    I have absolutely no idea. People swear by this, but I can't see how a single wipe of a partition isn't sufficient.
  3. FSRBIKER
    Offline

    FSRBIKER New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    To use an analogy would you trust just wiping your butt once and hoping their is no sh*t left behind?
    Last edited by a moderator: May 11, 2010
  4. Grabraham
    Offline

    Grabraham New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    my butt <> an electronic data partition?
    Last edited by a moderator: May 11, 2010
  5. Steeeler
    Offline

    Steeeler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As weird as it sounds, it does work. I've tested it twice. As said above, wiping once just doesnt get all the stuff left behind.
  6. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,433
    Likes Received:
    288
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    then why not wipe three times, or four? an OCD's nightmare... ;)
  7. Steeeler
    Offline

    Steeeler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Been there!

    I think most of us daily rom flashers here have come to grips with our OCD :)
  8. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,433
    Likes Received:
    288
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    amen... i'll wipe data/cache, then i'll wipe cache partition... then i think "wait, did wiping the cache partition mess up the wipe of the data/cache? i better do that ONE more time..."

    and yes, i get the lack of logic there :)
  9. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    For what it's worth, I have never wiped a partition more than once (consecutively), and have never experienced any problems.
  10. droiddadi
    Offline

    droiddadi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I too don't get it. I always wipe once and never had issues.
  11. droiduser5
    Offline

    droiduser5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You only need to do it once. Period.
  12. jrummy16
    Offline

    jrummy16 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    I think you will be fine switching to any rom only wiping once.
  13. FSRBIKER
    Offline

    FSRBIKER New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    I'm not sure what the big deal is about wiping more than once is, it literally takes about a minute to wipe data/cache and then cache twice each.
  14. Anarchist310000
    Offline

    Anarchist310000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Who still wipes their butt thats what underwear is for duh!!!
  15. Grabraham
    Offline

    Grabraham New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I have not seen anyone make a big deal. The OP was trying to fugure out : Why is that? Why is wiping once not good enough? What does it accomplish?

    It is not a big deal to open and close all 4 doors of my car before I start it each time but if it serves no purpose why would I do it?
  16. mrgarrison
    Offline

    mrgarrison New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    depends what you've eaten. taco night could bring multiple necessary wipes..
    but seriously wiping data/cache more than once does help. ive had system files left from roms when ive wiped only once. not many, but it happens. and my ocd is always present as i wipe data and cache partition 3 times every rom change :)
  17. killabyte
    Offline

    killabyte New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.C.
    With this being flash memory it's written to once is definitely enough. Once you tell it to erase, it's gone. It's not like wiping your butt where there's leftovers, or sweeping your floor or wiping crumbs from your table. This is something entirely different. If anything you're wasting read/write cycles by doing it which is shortening the life of your phone.

    A hard drive with a platter, or probably even your sdcard in the phone would be a different story. Even though you tell it to erase the data, technically it's still there. Even in those situations you would still only wipe once unless you were worried about the data being recovered. That's a situation where you would wipe multiple times or make multiples "passes" where 1's and 0's are written many times over to make the data as corrupt and unrecoverable as possible.
  18. Kmart95
    Offline

    Kmart95 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Haha very funny.
  19. Kmart95
    Offline

    Kmart95 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Thanks for the technical explanation.
  20. killabyte
    Offline

    killabyte New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.C.
    i watched too much mr wizard as a kid :)

    i could be wrong on the flash memory part and the read/write cycles but the rest is pretty much spot on. i know that you can wear out solid state disks but i dont know for sure if those same problems would affect the flash memory in this phone.

    either way - yea, erasing it once is enough.
Search tags for this page
does wiping your phone multiple times help
,
fascinate corrupt cache
,
how to make data unrecoverable on droid x2
,

is wiping once effective

,
make data unrecoverable s4
,
why wipe 3 times
,

why wipe cache partition