Why "wipe multiple times" ?

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by Shaneathan, May 11, 2010.

  1. Shaneathan

    Shaneathan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    For a few ROM instructions I've seen people say to wipe data and cache multiple times. I switched to BB from CM using ROM Manager and wiped, but only wiped once. In the instructions for DarkEdge, I saw that you were supposed to wipe multiple times. Why is that? Why is wiping once not good enough? What does it accomplish?
     
  2. pdroid

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    I have absolutely no idea. People swear by this, but I can't see how a single wipe of a partition isn't sufficient.
     
  3. FSRBIKER

    FSRBIKER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    To use an analogy would you trust just wiping your butt once and hoping their is no sh*t left behind?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 11, 2010
  4. Grabraham

    Grabraham Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +0
    my butt <> an electronic data partition?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 11, 2010
  5. Steeeler

    Steeeler Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    As weird as it sounds, it does work. I've tested it twice. As said above, wiping once just doesnt get all the stuff left behind.
     
  6. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    then why not wipe three times, or four? an OCD's nightmare... ;)
     
  7. Steeeler

    Steeeler Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Been there!

    I think most of us daily rom flashers here have come to grips with our OCD :)
     
  8. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    amen... i'll wipe data/cache, then i'll wipe cache partition... then i think "wait, did wiping the cache partition mess up the wipe of the data/cache? i better do that ONE more time..."

    and yes, i get the lack of logic there :)
     
  9. pdroid

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    For what it's worth, I have never wiped a partition more than once (consecutively), and have never experienced any problems.
     
  10. droiddadi

    droiddadi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I too don't get it. I always wipe once and never had issues.
     
  11. droiduser5

    droiduser5 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You only need to do it once. Period.
     
  12. jrummy16

    jrummy16 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think you will be fine switching to any rom only wiping once.
     
  13. FSRBIKER

    FSRBIKER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not sure what the big deal is about wiping more than once is, it literally takes about a minute to wipe data/cache and then cache twice each.
     
  14. Anarchist310000

    Anarchist310000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Who still wipes their butt thats what underwear is for duh!!!
     
  15. Grabraham

    Grabraham Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have not seen anyone make a big deal. The OP was trying to fugure out : Why is that? Why is wiping once not good enough? What does it accomplish?

    It is not a big deal to open and close all 4 doors of my car before I start it each time but if it serves no purpose why would I do it?
     
Search tags for this page
does wiping your phone multiple times help
,
fascinate corrupt cache
,
how to make data unrecoverable on droid x2
,

is wiping once effective

,
make data unrecoverable s4
,
why wipe 3 times
,

why wipe cache partition

,
wipe cache partition a few time