Why no Apps2SD?

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by BobthePhotoGuy, May 11, 2010.

  1. BobthePhotoGuy
    Offline

    BobthePhotoGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why do so few ROMs have Apps2SD?

    I am running CyanogenMod and using Apps2SD.

    I want to try different ROMs but when I look at the the details, very few ROMs include Apps2SD.

    Is there a reason? Is there something I am missing?

    Bob
  2. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is because only Cyanogen and Cyanogen based ROMs support Apps2SD for the Droid. Cyanogen is built from source, most other ROMs are built off the official updates.
  3. BobthePhotoGuy
    Offline

    BobthePhotoGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm no programmer, is it really that hard to include Apps2SD in a ROM? I take it you can't just set it up as an APK?
  4. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No it's very hard to do, even the folks at Google haven't been able to push out Apps2SD yet..
  5. srtfool32
    Offline

    srtfool32 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    IL
    need to get the source code, add it in, edit a few files for boot and other things to make it work, then compile the rom. very few devs compile from source to add it in.
  6. boostdscoob
    Offline

    boostdscoob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    its not at all difficult..
    what exactly do you want apps2sd for?
    i have over 200mb free space, and a class 2 sdcard. why would you want to kill your sdcard quicker, and have less than stellar app performance?
    now if you have a class 10 maybe, i could see wanting it, but ive never, ever found a use for it.
  7. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    I used it for a while and it was really killing my performance. A quick check of /data/app reveals I have a ton of space even with 60+ apps. I guess if you have hundreds and hundreds of apps then this is something you might want.
Similar Threads
  1. PirateSonny
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    523
  2. molo41
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    3,144
  3. motiond
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,169
  4. kookk
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    1,903
Loading...