1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Why Lags after a couple of days

Discussion in 'Liquid' started by MS2SF, Feb 20, 2011.

  1. MS2SF
    Offline

    MS2SF New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am currently using LGB v1.3c but this has occured for me in earlier versions as well. After using for a couple of days there is a lag when starting an app.

    Today, I tried Settings> Liquid > System > Memmory > Free up 50mb's and viola everything is fine. This made a big difference. Why?

    I do not use a task killer. After freeing up the 50 MBs Tibu shows 150 app data elements. internal memory 274 MB / 129 Free SD card 16.0 MB / 7.33 MB Free. I thought Linux managed memory so I did not have to use a task killer or worry about this.

    What is the difference betwen Liquid's Free Up and paid CachMate?
    Thanks
  2. jerkface80
    Offline

    jerkface80 New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know if this will help you, but I was experiencing the same thing, and disabling compcache did the trick for me. You might want to try it out for a few hours.
  3. pdc419
    Offline

    pdc419 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I agree, compcache sounds like the problem

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  4. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    neptune
    I find myself using automemory optimizer..
    Keeping moderate presets so that 35-40mb ready on hand..

    If I let it get down to 25mb (stock android limit I think) mine gets sluggish on app openings.
    if I want to run camcorder I crank it up to the "ungodly" preset allow more mb's for the cam or ie freezes the app.

    I like cachemate also but havnt installed on any of the LGB versions.
  5. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    neptune
    I should know this or should atleast search, but what's the easiest way to see if its enabled or not?
    Lol.. sad I know..
  6. MS2SF
    Offline

    MS2SF New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Settings > Liquid> Performance > Compcache Usage
  7. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    neptune
    mines at 18% I guess that means it's on.. :icon_eek:
  8. jerkface80
    Offline

    jerkface80 New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just fyi, disabling compcache in liquid settings and rebooting didn't stop compcache from running for me; I had to go into terminal emulator, type "su" to get superuser rights, then type "compcache stop".

    If you get an error when you type "compcache stats" in the terminal, you know it's not running anymore.

    Once I rebooted, I saw an immediate improvement. Hope it works out for you.
  9. neoj2
    Offline

    neoj2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks that terminal emu command worked, noticed speed jump right away
  10. adsfa34
    Offline

    adsfa34 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when using compcache, it's recommended you reboot (full system reboot, not just GUI) every day or two to keep everything working smoothly. that helps me when things start to lag.
  11. kodiak799
    Offline

    kodiak799 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,760
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63
    rebooting daily didn't do anything for me.

    Also good tip on using terminal emulator to stop compcache. I tried from Liquid settings and rebooted but it was still running. See how things go without it.
  12. MS2SF
    Offline

    MS2SF New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does Liquid come with a Terminal Emulator? If so I can't find it. I tried to use two from the market and both will not work.
    Where can I find one?
Search tags for this page

htc incredible 2 lag